Brooklyn Scholars Charter School
Brooklyn Scholars Charter School reported $16.2 million in revenue and $16.2 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $93.86 went to program services, $6.14 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.1% of the total. Government grants made up 99.1%. Revenue rose 26% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $16MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $16MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 93.9% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 6.1% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 99.1% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 99.1% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.5% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 0.2 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 6 of 6 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseOperated an educational institution organized as a public Charter School. The school provides education, at no cost to the parent, to students in kindergarten through eighth grade. The school operates under a charter approved by the new york city department of education
Operated a school food service program at the public Charter School described above. The school offers free or reduced breakfast and/or lunch for families that qualify. Research has shown that students who eat their breakfast in the morning exhibit better memory retention. Funding for this program was provided by the usda food and nutrition service, in the amount of $742,006
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b6 · 6 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 6118
Largest outside contractors
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| NATIONAL HERITAGE ACADEMIES INC Management services | $14,012,208 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 1 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Private foundation grants it received
1 private foundation reported grants to Brooklyn Scholars Charter School totaling $500 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Brooklyn Scholars Charter School's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Brooklyn Scholars Charter School, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Brooklyn Scholars Charter School spent in FY2025, $93.86 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- The Magellan SchoolAustin, TX · revenue $16M · programs 82.7% · FY2025
- St Stephen's SchoolNew York, NY · revenue $16M · programs 66.1% · FY2025
- Augusta University FoundationAugusta, GA · revenue $16M · programs 76.8% · FY2025
- Keystone Academy Charter SchoolPhiladelphia, PA · revenue $16M · programs 85.4% · FY2025
- Sage International School of BoiseBoise, ID · revenue $16M · programs 59.1% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Brooklyn Scholars Charter School's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Brooklyn Scholars Charter School reported that 93.9% of its $16.2 million in expenses went to program services, 6.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Brooklyn Scholars Charter School get its money?
Of $16.2 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 99.1% came from contributions and grants (including 99.1% from government grants) and 0.5% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Brooklyn Scholars Charter School a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 61-1591986 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202600869349300415 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202541199349302699 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202421299349300927 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202301329349308390 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202200689349301420 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202120699349300327 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 61-1591986: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.