Charity Impact Media

Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking

Friends of Community Foundations of Canada

Tempe, AZ · EIN 61-1958124 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2025 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Friends of Community Foundations of Canada reported $13.7 million in revenue and $13.7 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $100.00 went to program services, $0.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. Revenue rose 551% between 2022 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $14M

For context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $14M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2025 filing. Median across 1,001 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
100.0%90.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%6.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%1.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
100.0%79.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$325,675
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.56%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
03
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.056.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
4 of 4100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$14M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $14M · revenue $14M

Provided grants to qualified donees for further community support

4 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M2022202320242025$14M$14M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2025 ⓘ$14M$14M100.0%$9,870—
2024 ⓘ$571K$571K100.0%$192—
2023 ⓘ$565K$564K100.0%$22—
2022 ⓘ$2.1M$2.1M—−$641—

Governance answers, as filed

2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Friends of Community Foundations of Canada totaling $30,000 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Friends of Community Foundations of Canada's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Friends of Community Foundations of Canada, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in Arizona

Questions people ask

How much of Friends of Community Foundations of Canada's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2025, Friends of Community Foundations of Canada reported that 100.0% of its $13.7 million in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Friends of Community Foundations of Canada get its money?

Of $13.7 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 100.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Friends of Community Foundations of Canada a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 61-1958124 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202631549349300103 · read the filing · XML
  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202501359349313520 · read the filing
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202411359349301046 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202321359349315337 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 61-1958124: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.