Charity Impact Media

Home › Unclassified

Community Action Agency of South Alabama

Daphne, AL · EIN 63-0510904 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Community Action Agency of South Alabama reported $10.2 million in revenue and $10.1 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $95.45 went to program services, $4.55 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. Government grants made up 84.8%. Revenue rose 125% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $10M

For context, the median across 2,433 covered unclassified charities: $88.27 programs, $11.68 management, $0.05 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $10M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 2,433 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
95.5%86.7%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
4.5%11.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
100.0%29.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
84.8%3.8%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%58.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$301,601
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.38%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
06
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.56.8
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
24 of 24100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$9.6M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $4.8M · revenue $10M

Administration of federal, state and local grants to help those individuals below the poverty line. Specific to headstart, liheap, csbg, and other related federal awards and state award programs to help the less fortunate living at or below the poverty line

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$10M$10M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$10M$10M95.5%$407K—
FY2024 ⓘ$11M$11M96.0%$329K—
FY2023 ⓘ$12M$12M93.7%$316K—
FY2022 ⓘ$12M$12M94.9%$232K—
FY2021 ⓘ$8.5M$8.5M91.8%$246K—
FY2020 ⓘ$4.5M$4.4M91.6%$212K$77,370

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b24 · 24 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 588

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
HARZO INC
Fortified roofing/weatherized constructi
$951,560
GREAT SOUTHERN RECREATION LLC
Playground maintenance and construction
$150,000
TRIO COMMUNITY MEALS LLC
Meals/nutrition
$145,296
GRANITE TELECOMMUNICATIONS
Telephone services
$102,799

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 4 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Community Action Agency of South Alabama's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Community Action Agency of South Alabama, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All unclassified charities · Largest charities in Alabama

Questions people ask

How much of Community Action Agency of South Alabama's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, Community Action Agency of South Alabama reported that 95.5% of its $10.1 million in expenses went to program services, 4.5% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Community Action Agency of South Alabama get its money?

Of $10.2 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, 100.0% came from contributions and grants (including 84.8% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Community Action Agency of South Alabama a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 63-0510904 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, object 202622099349300127 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, object 202502239349300230 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2023, object 202412259349300766 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2022, object 202322289349300502 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2021, object 202242249349301524 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2020, object 202112189349300236 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 63-0510904: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.