Charity Impact Media

Home › Community improvement & capacity building

Southwest Mississippi Planning and Development District

Natchez, MS · EIN 64-0579795 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Southwest Mississippi Planning and Development District reported $9.9 million in revenue and $10.3 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $83.58 went to program services, $16.42 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 66.1% of the total. Government grants made up 29.1%. Revenue rose 16% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $10M

For context, the median across 479 covered community improvement & capacity building charities: $90.45 programs, $9.31 management, $0.24 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $9.9M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 479 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
83.6%89.1%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
16.4%9.2%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.2%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
33.3%80.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
29.1%14.9%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
66.1%11.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$291,103
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.49%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
05
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
15.89.2
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
40 of 40100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$7.9M expenses · 91.3% of program spending · grants $558K · revenue $9.4M

Services for the elderly which includes transportation, meals, homemaker, outreach, information and referral, legal, ombudsman, senior center, adult day care and medicaid waiver

$741K expenses · 8.6% of program spending · revenue $262K

Economic development, grant writing for counties and municipalities, and revolving loan program

$14,707 expenses · 0.2% of program spending · revenue $32,360

Workforce investment

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$9.9M$10M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$9.9M$10M83.6%$14M—
FY2024 ⓘ$10M$9.8M86.2%$14M—
FY2023 ⓘ$9.3M$9.1M88.4%$14M—
FY2022 ⓘ$9.2M$9.0M87.4%$14M—
FY2021 ⓘ$8.4M$8.4M83.4%$13M—
FY2020 ⓘ$8.5M$8.1M86.3%$13M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b40 · 40 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 561

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Southwest Mississippi Planning and Development District's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Southwest Mississippi Planning and Development District, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All community improvement & capacity building charities · Largest charities in Mississippi

Questions people ask

How much of Southwest Mississippi Planning and Development District's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, Southwest Mississippi Planning and Development District reported that 83.6% of its $10.3 million in expenses went to program services, 16.4% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Southwest Mississippi Planning and Development District get its money?

Of $9.9 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, 33.3% came from contributions and grants (including 29.1% from government grants) and 66.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Southwest Mississippi Planning and Development District a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 64-0579795 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, object 202642299349302799 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, object 202502259349300920 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2023, object 202440569349300309 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2022, object 202302269349300435 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2021, object 202222169349300202 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2020, object 202122849349301237 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 64-0579795: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.