Charity Impact Media

Home › Social science

Grupo Nexos

San Juan, PR · EIN 66-0992288 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Grupo Nexos reported $11.4 million in revenue and $12.2 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $90.09 went to program services, $9.91 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 76.7% of the total. Government grants made up 23.3%. 3 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $12M

For context, the median across 54 covered social science charities: $84.80 programs, $13.80 management, $1.40 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 54 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
90.1%81.3%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
9.9%13.2%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%1.3%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.03
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
23.3%81.3%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
23.3%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
76.7%4.4%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$467,896
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported2.13%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
319
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.016.5
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
4 of 496.5%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$11M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $2.7M · revenue $11M

Support the community in areas such as public health and innovation projects through psychologists, planners, evaluators, social workers, epidemiologists, and public health and management experts, among other professionals

3 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M202220232024$11M$12M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$11M$12M90.1%$46,232—
2023 ⓘ$10M$9.5M89.7%$883K—
2022 ⓘ$3.4M$3.3M84.3%$136K—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
Centro de Apoyo para el Desarrollo Familiar Inc
Consulting Services
$1,007,221
Centros Sor isolina Ferre
Consulting Services
$565,073
Centro de Fortalecimiento Familiar
Consulting Services
$558,449
Institute for Individual Group and Organizational Development Inc
Consulting Services
$537,863

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 14 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Grupo Nexos's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Grupo Nexos, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All social science charities · Largest charities in Puerto Rico

Questions people ask

How much of Grupo Nexos's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Grupo Nexos reported that 90.1% of its $12.2 million in expenses went to program services, 9.9% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Grupo Nexos get its money?

Of $11.4 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 23.3% came from contributions and grants (including 23.3% from government grants) and 76.7% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Grupo Nexos a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 66-0992288 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202523219349311767 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202403179349306730 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202313189349306501 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 66-0992288: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.