Utah Charter Academies
Utah Charter Academies reported $62.7 million in revenue and $56.3 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $73.88 went to program services, $26.12 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 97.1% of the total. Government grants made up 95.7%. Revenue rose 35% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $56MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $63MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 73.9% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 26.1% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 97.1% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 95.7% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.9% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 3.6 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 5 of 5 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseUtah Charter Academies, inc. Operates 6 charter shcools in utah located in draper (draper I and draper ii serve 6-6 grade students with draper iii serving 7-12 grade students), west valley city (west valley I serves k-9 grade students and west valley ii serving 5-12 grade students), and salem (serving 5-9 students) and after-school daycare programs for studetns and faculty
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 5985
- Volunteers Part I, line 62,000
Largest outside contractors
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| AMERICAN PREPARATORY SCHOOLS Management services | $0 |
| AJ CARPET CLEANING AND SERVICES Carpet cleaning | $0 |
| STOEL RIVES Legal | $0 |
| ONE SOURCE PROPERTY MAINTENANCE Landscaping | $0 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out.
Private foundation grants it received
1 private foundation reported grants to Utah Charter Academies totaling $43 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Utah Charter Academies's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Utah Charter Academies, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Utah Charter Academies spent in FY2025, $73.88 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Roberts Wesleyan UniversityRochester, NY · revenue $63M · programs 90.4% · FY2025
- Grace Church SchoolNew York, NY · revenue $63M · programs 89.9% · FY2025
- Buena Vista UniversityStorm Lake, IA · revenue $63M · programs 86.3% · FY2025
- Renew - Reinventing EducationNew Orleans, LA · revenue $63M · programs 93.3% · FY2025
- California Polytechnic State University FoundationSan Luis Obispo, CA · revenue $63M · programs 91.4% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Utah Charter Academies's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Utah Charter Academies reported that 73.9% of its $56.3 million in expenses went to program services, 26.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Utah Charter Academies get its money?
Of $62.7 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 97.1% came from contributions and grants (including 95.7% from government grants) and 0.9% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Utah Charter Academies a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 68-0547532 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202641259349300534 · read the filing
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202521349349312667 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202421349349302337 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202321299349301632 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202220969349301662 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202121349349302162 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 68-0547532: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.