Charity Impact Media

Home › Health care

Jefferson Hospital Association

Also known as Jefferson Regional Medical Center

Pine Bluff, AR · EIN 71-0329353 · 501(c)(3) · Hospital or medical research organization
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Jefferson Hospital Association reported $265.3 million in revenue and $266.5 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $92.61 went to program services, $7.38 to management and general costs and $0.01 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 96.1% of the total. 128 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Revenue rose 26% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $267M

For context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $265M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,634 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
92.6%85.6%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
7.4%13.7%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.01$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.8%1.3%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.6%0.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
96.1%93.7%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$975,831
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.34%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
12827
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
8.26.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
13 of 1788.9%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$247M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $581K · revenue $255M

Jefferson Regional opened its doors in 1908 as Davis Hospital, with a mission to meet the healthcare needs of Pine Bluff and Southeast Arkansas. More than 100 years later, that mission is unchanged. As Jefferson County's only general acute care hospital, Jefferson Regional is licensed for 300 acute care beds and participates in Medicaid/Arkansas Works, Medicare, Champus, Tricare, Tricare East and/or other government-sponsored healthcare programs. Jefferson Regional's Board of Directors is comprised of individuals who are business, community, and medical leaders from the area. Approximately…

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$100M$200M$300M$400MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$265M$267M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$265M$267M92.6%$182M—
FY2024 ⓘ$234M$245M87.9%$183M—
FY2023 ⓘ$235M$244M88.3%$190M—
FY2022 ⓘ$237M$235M88.4%$195M—
FY2021 ⓘ$229M$217M88.0%$220M—
FY2020 ⓘ$211M$221M87.2%$192M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b17 · 13 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 51,881
  • Volunteers Part I, line 628

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
SODEXO INC & AFFILIATES
Food services
$2,434,776
LIFEPOINT REHABILITATION LLC
Rehabilitation services
$2,001,367
UNIVERSITY OF ARKANSAS FAMILY MEDICAL CENTER
Medical clinic physical services
$1,918,051
REYNOLDS CONSTRUCTION CO
Contractor
$1,794,581

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 79 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Jefferson Hospital Association totaling $5,000 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Jefferson Hospital Association's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Jefferson Hospital Association, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All health care charities · Largest charities in Arkansas

Questions people ask

How much of Jefferson Hospital Association's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Jefferson Hospital Association reported that 92.6% of its $266.5 million in expenses went to program services, 7.4% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Jefferson Hospital Association get its money?

Of $265.3 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 0.8% came from contributions and grants (including 0.6% from government grants) and 96.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Jefferson Hospital Association a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 71-0329353 as a 501(c)(3) organization (hospital or medical research organization), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202601339349304690 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202501349349309730 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202441319349303819 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202311329349307796 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202231249349302718 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202141349349301019 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 71-0329353: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.