Charity Impact Media

Home › Community improvement & capacity building

Arkansas Black Mayors Association

Little Rock, AR · EIN 71-0818651 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Arkansas Black Mayors Association reported $12.0 million in revenue and $12.1 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $99.56 went to program services, $0.44 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 99.4% of the total. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $12M

For context, the median across 479 covered community improvement & capacity building charities: $90.45 programs, $9.31 management, $0.24 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 479 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
99.6%89.1%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.4%9.2%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.2%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.6%80.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%14.9%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
99.4%11.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$291,103
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.49%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
05
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.29.2
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
7 of 8100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$12M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $12M

Initiating the planning phase of abmas watershed program that will prevent flooding in disenfranchised communities

— expenses

Allowing abma to collect and distribute COVID-19 tetsing and ppe kits

— expenses

Abma has expanded its reach with the winthrop rockefeller grant to be able to pursue our new program, watershed

2 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M20232024$12M$12M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$12M$12M99.6%$218K—
2023 ⓘ$1.3M$1.1M89.2%$267K$115,501

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b8 · 7 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 56
  • Volunteers Part I, line 65

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Arkansas Black Mayors Association's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Arkansas Black Mayors Association, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All community improvement & capacity building charities · Largest charities in Arkansas

Questions people ask

How much of Arkansas Black Mayors Association's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Arkansas Black Mayors Association reported that 99.6% of its $12.1 million in expenses went to program services, 0.4% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Arkansas Black Mayors Association get its money?

Of $12.0 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 0.6% came from contributions and grants and 99.4% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Arkansas Black Mayors Association a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 71-0818651 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202533219349322238 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202531999349300328 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 71-0818651: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.