Charity Impact Media

Home › Mutual & membership benefit

Wal-Mart Associates in Critical Need Fund

Bentonville, AR · EIN 71-0858484 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2026 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Wal-Mart Associates in Critical Need Fund reported $56.2 million in revenue and $27.3 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2026. Of every $100 it spent, $99.52 went to program services, $0.13 to management and general costs and $0.35 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 93.3% of the total. Revenue rose 326% between FY2020 and FY2026. Source: Form 990, FY2026.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending January 31, 2026 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $27M

For context, the median across 41 covered mutual & membership benefit charities: $96.16 programs, $3.84 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending January 31, 2026 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $56M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2026 filing. Median across 41 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2026Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
99.5%95.7%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.1%3.8%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.3%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00—
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
93.3%0.0%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%79.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$654,166
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.64%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
00
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
46.422.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
16 of 1692.3%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2026 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$27M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $27M · revenue $52M

The fund provides monetary support to qualified associates when they experience extreme economic hardship due to situations outside of their control

7 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$20M$40M$60M$80MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025FY2026$56M$27M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2026 ⓘ$56M$27M99.5%$105M—
FY2025 ⓘ$18M$25M99.3%$76M—
FY2024 ⓘ$15M$11M99.3%$84M—
FY2023 ⓘ$13M$8.5M99.1%$80M—
FY2022 ⓘ$11M$4.0M98.0%$75M—
FY2021 ⓘ$12M$3.9M98.7%$69M—
FY2020 ⓘ$13M$4.7M100.0%$61M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2026 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b16 · 16 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26Yes
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18Yes
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Wal-Mart Associates in Critical Need Fund totaling $2.0M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Wal-Mart Associates in Critical Need Fund's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Wal-Mart Associates in Critical Need Fund, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All mutual & membership benefit charities · Largest charities in Arkansas

Questions people ask

How much of Wal-Mart Associates in Critical Need Fund's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending January 31, 2026, Wal-Mart Associates in Critical Need Fund reported that 99.5% of its $27.3 million in expenses went to program services, 0.1% to management and general and 0.3% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Wal-Mart Associates in Critical Need Fund get its money?

Of $56.2 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending January 31, 2026, 93.3% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Wal-Mart Associates in Critical Need Fund a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 71-0858484 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2026: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2026, object 202612049349301456 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2025, object 202542259349301239 · read the filing
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2024, object 202401999349300615 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2023, object 202322019349300137 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2022, object 202241879349301424 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2021, object 202112169349300031 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2020, object 202042319349301109 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 71-0858484: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.