Charity Impact Media

Home › Civil rights, social action & advocacy

Southern Center for Children & Families

Monroe, LA · EIN 72-1436720 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Southern Center for Children & Families reported $11.0 million in revenue and $10.6 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $74.16 went to program services, $25.84 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 60.6% of the total. Government grants made up 26.3%. Revenue rose 7% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $11M

For context, the median across 132 covered civil rights, social action & advocacy charities: $84.11 programs, $11.40 management, $4.49 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 132 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
74.2%82.1%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
25.8%11.1%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%4.4%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.05
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
38.0%94.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
26.3%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
60.6%0.3%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$321,771
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.81%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
5.210.5
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
12 of 12100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$7.8M expenses · 100.0% of program spending

Train volunteers as court appoointed special advocates to work in the Fourth Judicial District of Louisiana

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$11M$11M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$11M$11M74.2%$4.6M—
FY2024 ⓘ$10M$11M64.0%$4.5M—
FY2023 ⓘ$11M$10M60.7%$4.7M—
FY2022 ⓘ$10M$9.7M63.8%$4.4M$150,000
FY2021 ⓘ$11M$9.5M64.3%$4.1M$150,000
FY2020 ⓘ$10M$9.9M71.5%$2.5M$150,000

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b12 · 12 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 575
  • Volunteers Part I, line 6198

Private foundation grants it received

2 private foundations reported grants to Southern Center for Children & Families totaling $30,156 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Southern Center for Children & Families's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Southern Center for Children & Families, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All civil rights, social action & advocacy charities · Largest charities in Louisiana

Questions people ask

How much of Southern Center for Children & Families's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Southern Center for Children & Families reported that 74.2% of its $10.6 million in expenses went to program services, 25.8% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Southern Center for Children & Families get its money?

Of $11.0 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 38.0% came from contributions and grants (including 26.3% from government grants) and 60.6% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Southern Center for Children & Families a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 72-1436720 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202523019349300422 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202443169349304029 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202343559349300904 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202223119349301552 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202132739349300808 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202042459349300649 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 72-1436720: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.