Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

University of Louisiana at Monroe Foundation

Monroe, LA · EIN 72-6028527 · 501(c)(3) · Organization operated for a governmental college or university
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

University of Louisiana at Monroe Foundation reported $12.4 million in revenue and $5.6 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $68.11 went to program services, $27.00 to management and general costs and $4.89 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 51.5% of the total. Revenue rose 89% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $5.6M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
68.1%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
27.0%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
4.9%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.06$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
36.9%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
8.5%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported8
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
141.913.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
35 of 35100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$1.3M expenses · 34.6% of program spending · grants $1.3M

Scholarships - provided scholarships to the students attending the University of Louisiana at monroe

$543K expenses · 14.1% of program spending

Academic support - assisted the University of Louisiana at monroe in attracting and retaining high quality faculty through salary enhancements and faculty enhancement through travel and research

$668K expenses · 17.4% of program spending

Departmental support - provided assistance to the University of Louisiana at monroe for the purpose of enhancing academic programs through faculty development and enhancement in order to promote the accomplishments of the university

$1.3M all other programs (line 4d)

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
−$1.1M$3.9M$8.9M$14M$19MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$12M$5.6M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$12M$5.6M68.1%$67M—
FY2024 ⓘ$13M$4.5M69.7%$60M—
FY2023 ⓘ$11M$4.1M64.3%$52M—
FY2022 ⓘ−$1.1M$4.2M71.2%$45M—
FY2021 ⓘ$13M$3.2M67.0%$50M$147,005
FY2020 ⓘ$6.6M$5.1M72.6%$40M$147,005

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b35 · 35 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 56

Private foundation grants it received

4 private foundations reported grants to University of Louisiana at Monroe Foundation totaling $68,550 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from University of Louisiana at Monroe Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for University of Louisiana at Monroe Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Louisiana

Questions people ask

How much of University of Louisiana at Monroe Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, University of Louisiana at Monroe Foundation reported that 68.1% of its $5.6 million in expenses went to program services, 27.0% to management and general and 4.9% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does University of Louisiana at Monroe Foundation get its money?

Of $12.4 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 36.9% came from contributions and grants and 8.5% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is University of Louisiana at Monroe Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 72-6028527 as a 501(c)(3) organization (organization operated for a governmental college or university), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202640419349300844 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202530299349300938 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202410879349300421 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202301359349317710 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202240399349300534 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202131379349309598 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 72-6028527: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.