Sunny Glen Children's Home
Sunny Glen Children's Home reported $66.4 million in revenue and $64.6 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 96.7% of the total. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $290,800 (CEO). 6 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Revenue rose 47% between 2020 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
This filing does not split expenses by function (Part IX columns B–D), so there is no breakdown for 2024.
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $66MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | Not reported | 87.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | Not reported | 11.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | Not reported | 0.2% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.17 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 2.5% | 20.6% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 2.4% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 96.7% | 70.8% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | $290,800 | $274,992 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | 0.45% | 1.18% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 6 | 6 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 1.4 | 6.9 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 10 of 10 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseSunny Glen is licensed by the state of Texas to provide 24 hour residential care. Children referred to Sunny Glen originate from communities in Texas. Sunny Glen serves male and female children newborn to 17. Sunny Glen serves children with various needs-basic, moderate and specialized levels. Sunny Glen utilized the house parent model of care which attempts to simulate healthy activities normally found in the lives of children in their natural home environments. House parents serve as positive role models, set clear and consistent expectations, and provide each child with a christian family…
In 2019 Sunny Glen was awarded a grant from ORR to care for unaccompanied minor immigrants.The unaccompanied minors stay at a facility that is used exclusively for the program and stay there until they are released to their sponsor or until they are reunified
Highest reported compensation
2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here| Role | From this org | From related orgs | Other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CEO Director/trustee, key employee, highest compensated employee, 040.00 hrs/week | $218,800 | $0 | $72,000 | $290,800 |
| COO Key employee, 040.00 hrs/week | $140,500 | $0 | $32,500 | $173,000 |
| CAO Key employee, 040.00 hrs/week | $122,603 | $0 | $17,500 | $140,103 |
| CFO Key employee, 040.00 hrs/week | $110,108 | $0 | $18,500 | $128,608 |
| Director of Personnel Key employee, 040.00 hrs/week | $108,275 | $0 | $12,500 | $120,775 |
| Corporate Project Management Officer Key employee, 040.00 hrs/week | $97,942 | $0 | $9,000 | $106,942 |
6 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation from Sunny Glen Children's Home (Part VII, line 2). Compensation of current officers, directors and key employees totaled $733K (Part IX, line 5).
5 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b10 · 10 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18Yes
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 51,055
Private foundation grants it received
7 private foundations reported grants to Sunny Glen Children's Home totaling $108K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Sunny Glen Children's Home's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Sunny Glen Children's Home, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Where Sunny Glen Children's Home's money comes from and goes, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Zero to Three National Center for Infants Toddlers and FamiliesWashington, DC · revenue $66M · programs 81.5% · FY2025
- Community Action Corporation of South TexasAlice, TX · revenue $66M · programs 92.5% · FY2025
- Catholic Charities Cyo of the Archdiocese of San FranciscoSan Francisco, CA · revenue $66M · programs 86.6% · FY2025
- Alliance for AgingMiami, FL · revenue $66M · programs 96.3% · 2024
- Pathways LALos Angeles, CA · revenue $66M · programs 94.1% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much does Sunny Glen Children's Home pay its top executive?
The largest total compensation Sunny Glen Children's Home reported for one person in calendar year 2024 was $290,800, for the role of CEO (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).
Where does Sunny Glen Children's Home get its money?
Of $66.4 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 2.5% came from contributions and grants and 96.7% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Sunny Glen Children's Home a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 74-1260706 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202502899349301545 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202423209349304432 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202323199349331307 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202243209349300904 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202113199349315346 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 74-1260706: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.