Charity Impact Media

Home › Arts, culture & humanities

Houston Public Media Foundation

Houston, TX · EIN 74-1670740 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Houston Public Media Foundation reported $17.6 million in revenue and $17.2 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $91.89 went to program services, $1.17 to management and general costs and $6.94 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 78.3% of the total. Revenue rose 10% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $17M

For context, the median across 876 covered arts, culture & humanities charities: $79.98 programs, $13.89 management, $6.13 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $18M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 876 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
91.9%78.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
1.2%13.6%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
6.9%6.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.09$0.10
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
78.3%57.5%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.7%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
21.3%20.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$385,706
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported2.03%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
2.636.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
18 of 18100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$6.0M expenses · 38.2% of program spending · grants $4.9M · revenue $3.8M

In 2025, we continued to report on issues and events that mattered to our neighbors, our community, and our world. We produced in-depth coverage of the 89th legislative session and subsequent special sessions, houston's city budget and capital improvement and infrastructure planning, the bodies found in our bayous, centerpoint energy's request for a rate increase, ongoing disaster recovery efforts, and much more. We established a partnership with local news affiliate abc13 to bring daily weather updates from their award-winning weather team and to activate around-the-clock coverage in times…

$4.9M expenses · 30.9% of program spending · grants $4.9M

The Houston Public Media team continues to attend community events and school functions to share educational content and resources with children. A typical set-up will include life-size standees kids can take pictures with, video clips from pbs kids shows, laptops to allow kids to try out safe and educational pbs kids games, and take-home goodies, like activity books, stickers, and pencils. In 2025, we shared pbs kids shows and resources with families at the port houston community resource fair, the mayor's back to school and health fair, ridgemont elementary academic night, back to school…

$4.9M expenses · 30.9% of program spending · grants $4.9M

In march 2025, Houston Public Media's newest show and first show designed as a daily multi-platform, streamed talk show, launched on news 88.7, youtube, houstonpublicmedia.org, and across podcast platforms. Hello houston brings together renowned meteorologist frank billingsly, award-winning broadcaster ernie manouse, and producer celeste diaz schurman to tell houston's stories through profiles, interviews, and thought-provoking discussions. The show encourages listeners and viewers to connect, inviting people to call in, text, and engage on social media. In september, houston matters joined…

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$18M$17M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$18M$17M91.9%$3.6M—
FY2024 ⓘ$16M$17M91.0%$3.2M—
FY2023 ⓘ$15M$15M89.7%$3.3M—
FY2022 ⓘ$15M$15M91.8%$3.4M$322,924
FY2021 ⓘ$15M$15M88.9%$3.6M$316,076
FY2020 ⓘ$16M$17M88.8%$2.7M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b18 · 18 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 623

Private foundation grants it received

33 private foundations reported grants to Houston Public Media Foundation totaling $406K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Houston Public Media Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Houston Public Media Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All arts, culture & humanities charities · Largest charities in Texas

Questions people ask

How much of Houston Public Media Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, Houston Public Media Foundation reported that 91.9% of its $17.2 million in expenses went to program services, 1.2% to management and general and 6.9% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Houston Public Media Foundation get its money?

Of $17.6 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, 78.3% came from contributions and grants and 21.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Houston Public Media Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 74-1670740 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, object 202631879349300243 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2024, object 202540999349300219 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2023, object 202411069349301651 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2022, object 202301089349300925 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2021, object 202201949349300415 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2020, object 202101109349300000 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 74-1670740: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.