Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Houston Community College Foundation

Houston, TX · EIN 74-1885205 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Houston Community College Foundation reported $10.1 million in revenue and $8.8 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $92.39 went to program services, $2.72 to management and general costs and $4.89 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 87.0% of the total. Revenue rose 117% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $8.8M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $10M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
92.4%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
2.7%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
4.9%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.05$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
87.0%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
34.013.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
24 of 24100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$1.5M expenses · 18.6% of program spending · grants $1.5M

Student scholarships and endowments: the hcc foundation has awarded thousands of scholarships to deserving hcc students. Our fundraising efforts are rapidly expanding, and we expect to award many more scholarships to houston-area students in the coming years. The foundation's long-term goal is to build a scholarship endowment sufficient to award a scholarship to all hcc credit-hour students who qualify for assistance as they begin their college career

$6.7M expenses · 81.4% of program spending · grants $5.2M

Capital projects and program support:the hcc foundation provides financial assistance to selected hcc programs and capital projects.faculty grants and awards:the hcc foundation recognizes our faculty members' key role in achieving hcc's mission. We support their efforts by providing grants for projects that have the potential to advance student learning at hcc. Many faculty proposals request the foundation's financial support for professional enrichment opportunities and projects to enhance hcc learning environments

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$10M$8.8M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$10M$8.8M92.4%$25M—
FY2024 ⓘ$8.2M$6.1M88.3%$23M—
FY2023 ⓘ$7.8M$6.6M92.1%$20M—
FY2022 ⓘ$6.9M$5.8M88.1%$18M—
FY2021 ⓘ$7.3M$5.8M89.4%$19M—
FY2020 ⓘ$4.7M$4.5M87.7%$16M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b24 · 24 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18Yes
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Private foundation grants it received

12 private foundations reported grants to Houston Community College Foundation totaling $1.5M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Houston Community College Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Houston Community College Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Texas

Questions people ask

How much of Houston Community College Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, Houston Community College Foundation reported that 92.4% of its $8.8 million in expenses went to program services, 2.7% to management and general and 4.9% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Houston Community College Foundation get its money?

Of $10.1 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, 87.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Houston Community College Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 74-1885205 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, object 202621969349300217 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2024, object 202501559349300330 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2023, object 202401979349301725 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2022, object 202301969349300505 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2021, object 202200689349301300 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2020, object 202100629349301700 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 74-1885205: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.