Home › Food, agriculture & nutrition
Community Food Share
Community Food Share reported $32.7 million in revenue and $34.1 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $93.92 went to program services, $3.11 to management and general costs and $2.97 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 94.4% of the total. Revenue rose 18% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $34MFor context, the median across 349 covered food, agriculture & nutrition charities: $94.56 programs, $3.12 management, $2.32 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $33MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 93.9% | 94.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 3.1% | 3.1% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 3.0% | 2.3% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.03 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 94.4% | 96.4% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 1.8% | 10.5% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 1.3% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $213,323 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 0.61% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 5.5 | 6.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 13 of 13 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseFood banking operations:Community Food Share distributed 12.9 million pounds of food this year,excluding purchased food,through a network of more than 40 partner agencies who provide meals and groceries, and through our community distribution programs that feed low-income families and seniors. We focus on nutritious foods like fresh produce, protein and dairy. Food is distributed with safety and quality as top priorities. The food we provide helps families avoid tough choices like paying for food or covering expenses for housing, healthcare, or utilities. Volunteers are a vital part of…
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b13 · 13 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 561
- Volunteers Part I, line 62,120
Private foundation grants it received
43 private foundations reported grants to Community Food Share totaling $266K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Community Food Share's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Community Food Share, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Community Food Share spent in FY2025, $93.92 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Heart of Compassion DistributionMontebello, CA · revenue $32M · programs 99.5% · FY2025
- Coastal Bend Food BankCorpus Christi, TX · revenue $33M · programs 96.9% · FY2025
- Feeding South DakotaSioux Falls, SD · revenue $32M · programs 90.4% · FY2025
- Citymeals-On-WheelsNew York, NY · revenue $33M · programs 77.3% · FY2025
- Second Harvest Food Bank of Northeast TnKingsport, TN · revenue $32M · programs 94.0% · FY2025
All food, agriculture & nutrition charities · Largest charities in Colorado
Questions people ask
How much of Community Food Share's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Community Food Share reported that 93.9% of its $34.1 million in expenses went to program services, 3.1% to management and general and 3.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Community Food Share get its money?
Of $32.7 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 94.4% came from contributions and grants (including 1.8% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Community Food Share a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 74-2227731 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202533189349307463 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202433109349302283 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202333479349300018 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202203549349301610 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202210459349300016 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202100299349301110 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 74-2227731: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.