Charity Impact Media

Home › Arts, culture & humanities

The Denver Art Museum Foundation

Denver, CO · EIN 74-2496760 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

The Denver Art Museum Foundation reported $31.7 million in revenue and $9.7 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $95.19 went to program services, $4.81 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 75.5% of the total. Revenue rose 969% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $9.7M

For context, the median across 876 covered arts, culture & humanities charities: $79.98 programs, $13.89 management, $6.13 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $32M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 876 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
95.2%78.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
4.8%13.6%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%6.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.10
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
75.5%57.5%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.7%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%20.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$385,706
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported2.03%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported8
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
261.636.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
11 of 11100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$9.3M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $9.3M

The foundation was established to own and administer funds exclusively for the Denver Art Museum and to make periodic distributions to the museum for its educational and charitable purposes

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$32M$9.7M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$32M$9.7M95.2%$212M—
FY2024 ⓘ$8.7M$8.5M94.6%$185M—
FY2023 ⓘ$4.2M$8.3M95.7%$161M—
FY2022 ⓘ$13M$7.7M96.2%$151M—
FY2021 ⓘ$33M$7.0M95.7%$194M—
FY2020 ⓘ$3.0M$6.5M95.9%$138M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b11 · 11 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 611

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
MONTICELLO ASSOCIATES
Invst advisor
$175,000
DENVER ART MUSEUM
Service fee
$125,000

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 2 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

2 private foundations reported grants to The Denver Art Museum Foundation totaling $15,000 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from The Denver Art Museum Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for The Denver Art Museum Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All arts, culture & humanities charities · Largest charities in Colorado

Questions people ask

How much of The Denver Art Museum Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, The Denver Art Museum Foundation reported that 95.2% of its $9.7 million in expenses went to program services, 4.8% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does The Denver Art Museum Foundation get its money?

Of $31.7 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, 75.5% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is The Denver Art Museum Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 74-2496760 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, object 202621199349301547 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, object 202502049349300535 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2023, object 202431349349306098 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2022, object 202331929349300793 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2021, object 202220499349301022 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2020, object 202140719349300824 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 74-2496760: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.