Charity Impact Media

Home › Housing & shelter

San Antonio Alternative Housing Corp

San Antonio, TX · EIN 74-2691645 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2025 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

San Antonio Alternative Housing Corp reported $17.0 million in revenue and $2.2 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $52.07 went to program services, $47.93 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 92.7% of the total. 1 person received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Revenue rose 1039% between 2019 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $2.2M

For context, the median across 933 covered housing & shelter charities: $89.27 programs, $10.73 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $17M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2025 filing. Median across 933 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
52.1%87.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
47.9%10.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.1%17.0%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
7.2%66.2%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$300,863
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.57%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
15
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
153.110.0
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
6 of 6100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$1.2M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $25,000 · revenue $842K

To provide affordable housing to families and individuals provide social service support and referrals as needed. Families served:61

7 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2025 ⓘ$17M$2.2M52.1%$29M—
2024 ⓘ$2.1M$2.1M45.1%$17M$138,591
2023 ⓘ$2.0M$1.9M41.3%$19M$119,553
2022 ⓘ$1.9M$1.6M44.1%$11M$136,965
2021 ⓘ$1.9M$1.6M57.3%$10M$102,638
2020 ⓘ$1.4M$1.3M49.2%$9.9M$100,773
2019 ⓘ$1.5M$1.5M52.5%$10.0M—

Governance answers, as filed

2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b6 · 6 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 510

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from San Antonio Alternative Housing Corp's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for San Antonio Alternative Housing Corp, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of San Antonio Alternative Housing Corp's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2025, San Antonio Alternative Housing Corp reported that 52.1% of its $2.2 million in expenses went to program services, 47.9% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does San Antonio Alternative Housing Corp get its money?

Of $17.0 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 0.1% came from contributions and grants and 7.2% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is San Antonio Alternative Housing Corp a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 74-2691645 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202611909349300536 · read the filing · XML
  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202511889349300676 · read the filing
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202442619349300209 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202342859349301559 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202242239349301139 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202121539349301452 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202013169349305111 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 74-2691645: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.