Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

Texas Womans University Foundation

Denton, TX · EIN 75-1292762 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Texas Womans University Foundation reported $41.0 million in revenue and $14.1 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $95.91 went to program services, $4.09 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 88.8% of the total. Revenue rose 220% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $14M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $41M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
95.9%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
4.1%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
88.8%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
142.213.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
15 of 15100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$14M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $14M

Provides funds for scholarships for twu students as well as grants and other educational support for twu faculty and students

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$20M$40M$60M$80MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$41M$14M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$41M$14M95.9%$167M—
FY2024 ⓘ$33M$6.5M94.6%$137M—
FY2023 ⓘ$14M$6.9M90.3%$106M—
FY2022 ⓘ$17M$4.8M85.7%$95M—
FY2021 ⓘ$9.8M$8.2M92.2%$101M—
FY2020 ⓘ$13M$5.7M93.7%$86M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b15 · 15 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 620

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
STEADY STATE IMPACT STRATEGIES LLC
Consulting
$200,000
ALMABASE INC
Computer software
$127,436
ALPINE GROUP PARTNERS LLC
Consulting
$120,000

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 3 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

6 private foundations reported grants to Texas Womans University Foundation totaling $155K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Texas Womans University Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Texas Womans University Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Texas

Questions people ask

How much of Texas Womans University Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Texas Womans University Foundation reported that 95.9% of its $14.1 million in expenses went to program services, 4.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Texas Womans University Foundation get its money?

Of $41.0 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 88.8% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Texas Womans University Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 75-1292762 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202523169349307067 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202433109349303098 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202333199349309158 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202340659349301709 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202240319349300129 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202141259349301439 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 75-1292762: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.