Charity Impact Media

Home › Food, agriculture & nutrition

High Plains Food Bank

Amarillo, TX · EIN 75-1838348 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

High Plains Food Bank reported $20.0 million in revenue and $20.4 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $93.50 went to program services, $1.89 to management and general costs and $4.61 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 90.2% of the total. 1 person received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Revenue rose 9% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $20M

For context, the median across 349 covered food, agriculture & nutrition charities: $94.56 programs, $3.12 management, $2.32 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $20M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 349 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
93.5%94.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
1.9%3.1%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
4.6%2.3%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.05$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
90.2%96.4%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
2.6%10.5%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
7.7%1.3%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$213,323
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported0.61%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
13
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
11.16.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
22 of 22100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$19M expenses · 100.0% of program spending

The organization collected & distributed over 9,149,678 lbs of food in the Texas Panhandle through 141 agencies

— expenses

Distributed food to elementary school children under the Kid's Cafe Program

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M201920202021202220232024$20M$20M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$20M$20M93.5%$19M—
2023 ⓘ$20M$19M94.0%$19M$108,787
2022 ⓘ$20M$18M93.8%$18M$94,962
2021 ⓘ$18M$16M94.3%$16M$82,940
2020 ⓘ$22M$18M95.9%$13M$76,600
2019 ⓘ$18M$17M95.7%$9.3M$76,100

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b22 · 22 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18Yes
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 562
  • Volunteers Part I, line 65,482

Private foundation grants it received

20 private foundations reported grants to High Plains Food Bank totaling $121K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from High Plains Food Bank's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for High Plains Food Bank, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All food, agriculture & nutrition charities · Largest charities in Texas

Questions people ask

How much of High Plains Food Bank's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, High Plains Food Bank reported that 93.5% of its $20.4 million in expenses went to program services, 1.9% to management and general and 4.6% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does High Plains Food Bank get its money?

Of $20.0 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 90.2% came from contributions and grants (including 2.6% from government grants) and 7.7% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is High Plains Food Bank a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 75-1838348 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202502339349301600 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202432979349300833 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202333199349312763 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202213149349301446 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202123029349300442 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202042839349301589 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 75-1838348: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.