Home › Food, agriculture & nutrition
Food Bank of West Central Texas
Food Bank of West Central Texas reported $9.0 million in revenue and $8.4 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $88.49 went to program services, $7.30 to management and general costs and $4.21 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 88.4% of the total. Government grants made up 21.3%. Revenue rose 47% between 2019 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $8.4MFor context, the median across 349 covered food, agriculture & nutrition charities: $94.56 programs, $3.12 management, $2.32 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $9.0MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 88.5% | 94.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 7.3% | 3.1% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 4.2% | 2.3% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.04 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 88.4% | 96.4% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 21.3% | 10.5% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 2.0% | 1.3% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $213,323 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 0.61% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 21.6 | 6.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 15 of 15 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseThe Food Bank of West Central Texas distributes more than 4 million pounds of food and grocery products each year. These items serve more than 150 non-profit agencies, including soup kitchens, church food pantries, neighborheed centers, halfway houses, family crisis shelters, daycare centers, mobile food pantries, backpack programs, and many others in Abilene and surrounding areas in West Texas
7 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b15 · 15 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18Yes
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 518
- Volunteers Part I, line 6494
Private foundation grants it received
11 private foundations reported grants to Food Bank of West Central Texas totaling $1.0M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Food Bank of West Central Texas's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Food Bank of West Central Texas, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Food Bank of West Central Texas spent in 2025, $88.49 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Metropolitan Area Neighborhood Nutrition AlliancePhiladelphia, PA · revenue $8.4M · programs 79.8% · FY2025
- Meals on Wheels by ACCSacramento, CA · revenue $9.6M · programs 88.8% · FY2025
- Kaizen Food RescueEnglewood, CO · revenue $7.3M · programs 100.0% · 2024
- Food & Nutrition SolutionsLufkin, TX · revenue $10M · programs 99.8% · 2025
- Second Harvest Creating Pathways FundLorain, OH · revenue $1.5M · programs 0.0% · FY2025
All food, agriculture & nutrition charities · Largest charities in Texas
Questions people ask
How much of Food Bank of West Central Texas's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2025, Food Bank of West Central Texas reported that 88.5% of its $8.4 million in expenses went to program services, 7.3% to management and general and 4.2% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Food Bank of West Central Texas get its money?
Of $9.0 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 88.4% came from contributions and grants (including 21.3% from government grants) and 2.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Food Bank of West Central Texas a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 75-1888192 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202642309349302734 · read the filing
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202522769349300612 · read the filing
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202442269349301689 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202342569349301819 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202223199349316692 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202143119349300264 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202042179349300734 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 75-1888192: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.