Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

McKinney Christian School

Also known as McKinney Christian Academy

McKinney, TX · EIN 75-2440342 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

McKinney Christian School reported $14.1 million in revenue and $12.6 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $75.17 went to program services, $20.26 to management and general costs and $4.57 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 85.4% of the total. Revenue rose 40% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $13M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $14M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
75.2%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
20.3%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
4.6%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.46$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
8.9%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
85.4%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported8
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
17.513.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
8 of 8100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$9.5M expenses · 100.0% of program spending

Mckinney Christian academy is a christian, independent, coeducational, inter-denominational, college preparatory day school. Mca was founded in 1991 and had approximately 700 enrolled in pre-kindergarten through twelfth grade during the period

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$14M$13M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$14M$13M75.2%$18M—
FY2024 ⓘ$13M$12M78.8%$17M—
FY2023 ⓘ$16M$11M66.5%$16M—
FY2022 ⓘ$9.9M$9.4M62.5%$11M—
FY2021 ⓘ$10M$9.1M82.6%$11M—
FY2020 ⓘ$10M$9.6M83.1%$9.7M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b8 · 8 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5198

Private foundation grants it received

3 private foundations reported grants to McKinney Christian School totaling $2,166 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from McKinney Christian School's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for McKinney Christian School, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Texas

Questions people ask

How much of McKinney Christian School's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, McKinney Christian School reported that 75.2% of its $12.6 million in expenses went to program services, 20.3% to management and general and 4.6% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does McKinney Christian School get its money?

Of $14.1 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 8.9% came from contributions and grants and 85.4% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is McKinney Christian School a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 75-2440342 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202640309349300614 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202520659349301422 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202411299349300511 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202321359349308847 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202200609349300845 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202101339349305240 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 75-2440342: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.