Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

West Texas A&M Univ Foundation

Canyon, TX · EIN 75-6036665 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

West Texas A&M Univ Foundation reported $13.6 million in revenue and $7.6 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $98.53 went to program services, $1.47 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 58.7% of the total. Revenue rose 72% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $7.6M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending August 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $14M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
98.5%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
1.5%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
37.3%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported8
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
307.313.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
30 of 30100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$3.1M expenses · 40.7% of program spending · grants $3.1M

Scholarships paid directly to wtamu for the benefit of specific students

$4.4M expenses · 59.3% of program spending · grants $4.4M

University support for various education needs and matching funds for wtamu endowment

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$14M$7.6M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$14M$7.6M98.5%$195M—
FY2024 ⓘ$15M$6.3M98.9%$167M—
FY2023 ⓘ$22M$6.0M99.0%$150M—
FY2022 ⓘ$26M$5.8M99.3%$132M—
FY2021 ⓘ$19M$5.3M99.0%$125M—
FY2020 ⓘ$7.9M$4.8M95.2%$100M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b30 · 30 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Private foundation grants it received

11 private foundations reported grants to West Texas A&M Univ Foundation totaling $245K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from West Texas A&M Univ Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for West Texas A&M Univ Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Texas

Questions people ask

How much of West Texas A&M Univ Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, West Texas A&M Univ Foundation reported that 98.5% of its $7.6 million in expenses went to program services, 1.5% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does West Texas A&M Univ Foundation get its money?

Of $13.6 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, 37.3% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is West Texas A&M Univ Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 75-6036665 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2025, object 202631969349302243 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2024, object 202501759349300235 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2023, object 202441809349300624 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2022, object 202341939349301694 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2021, object 202231179349300128 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending August 31, 2020, object 202121679349301477 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 75-6036665: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.