Charity Impact Media

Home › Unclassified

Art of Living Foundation

Walnut Creek, CA · EIN 77-0240101 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Art of Living Foundation reported $12.7 million in revenue and $11.6 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $92.28 went to program services, $6.63 to management and general costs and $1.09 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 62.3% of the total. Revenue fell 1% between 2020 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $12M

For context, the median across 2,433 covered unclassified charities: $88.27 programs, $11.68 management, $0.05 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $13M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 2,433 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
92.3%86.7%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
6.6%11.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
1.1%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.03$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
30.6%29.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%3.8%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
62.3%58.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$301,601
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.38%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
06
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
28.86.8
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
7 of 7100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$9.2M expenses · 86.3% of program spending

Art of Living courses and service projects; the Art of Living Foundation conducted courses and workshops to teach thousands of people stress relief practices and techniques, yogic and health practices, non-violence and community service through its programs

$1.5M expenses · 13.7% of program spending

The Art of Living Foundation provided grants to non-profit organizations in india under the dollar a day program to build schools, hire teachers and provide supplies and materials in order to educate and financially assist thousands of rural poor children and their families

— expenses

Generated donations to buy and donate food, masks and other medical help to the hospitals working for COVID-19 patients. Donations received to acquire a building for the center in atlanta. Donations received to support events to get a building for the center in dallas

5 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M20202021202220232024$13M$12M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$13M$12M92.3%$28M—
2023 ⓘ$23M$28M96.6%$27M—
2022 ⓘ$22M$13M87.5%$31M$61,443
2021 ⓘ$12M$10M91.6%$22M$59,758
2020 ⓘ$13M$11M92.6%$20M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 7 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 526
  • Volunteers Part I, line 69,000

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
VED VIGNAN MAHAVIDYAPEETH-V
Services
$2,499,564
META PLATFORMS INC
Services
$320,562
CLOUDALGO PTV LTD
Web & it services
$231,781
SALESFORCECOM INC
Web & it services
$154,011
ABOVECLOUD9AIINC
Web & it services
$100,552

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 5 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

31 private foundations reported grants to Art of Living Foundation totaling $895K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Art of Living Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Art of Living Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All unclassified charities · Largest charities in California

Questions people ask

How much of Art of Living Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Art of Living Foundation reported that 92.3% of its $11.6 million in expenses went to program services, 6.6% to management and general and 1.1% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Art of Living Foundation get its money?

Of $12.7 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 30.6% came from contributions and grants and 62.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Art of Living Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 77-0240101 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202522749349300017 · read the filing
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202432399349300003 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202332379349300338 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202232229349301548 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202132939349300538 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 77-0240101: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.