Home › Community improvement & capacity building
Brawley Community Foundation
Brawley Community Foundation reported $44.9 million in revenue and $43.6 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $99.77 went to program services, $0.23 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 98.2% of the total. Revenue rose 13% between FY2020 and FY2024. Source: Form 990, FY2024.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $44MFor context, the median across 479 covered community improvement & capacity building charities: $90.45 programs, $9.31 management, $0.24 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $45MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 99.8% | 89.1% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 0.2% | 9.2% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.2% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | Not reported | $0.00 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 80.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 14.9% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 98.2% | 11.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $291,103 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.49% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 5 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | -3.1 | 9.2 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 6 of 8 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseThe Brawley Community Foundation is a non-profit corporation organized and operated to improve the quality of life of the citizens of that specific area of northern imperial county which most directly affects and is affected by the city of brawley, california, and to lessen the burdens of government through the development, management, and operations of a correctional facility for prisoners held by the state of california and political subdivisions thereof and various federal agencies
The Brawley Community Foundation is a non-profit corporation organized and operated to improve the quality of life of the citizens of the specific area of northern imperial county which most directly affects and are affected by the city of brawley, california.during the year the organization held various community functions within the city of brawley
5 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b8 · 6 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Brawley Community Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Brawley Community Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Brawley Community Foundation spent in FY2024, $99.77 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Questions people ask
How much of Brawley Community Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, Brawley Community Foundation reported that 99.8% of its $43.6 million in expenses went to program services, 0.2% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Brawley Community Foundation get its money?
Of $44.9 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 98.2% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Brawley Community Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 77-0629281 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202632329349301718 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202411369349314596 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202312079349301756 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202241369349315284 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202111319349304566 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 77-0629281: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.