Charity Impact Media

Home › Unclassified

North Fork Valley Community Health Board

Hazard, KY · EIN 77-0651881 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

North Fork Valley Community Health Board reported $11.5 million in revenue and $10.4 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $95.43 went to program services, $4.57 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 75.6% of the total. Government grants made up 21.3%. Revenue rose 7% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $10M

For context, the median across 2,433 covered unclassified charities: $88.27 programs, $11.68 management, $0.05 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 2,433 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
95.4%86.7%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
4.6%11.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
23.5%29.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
21.3%3.8%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
75.6%58.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$301,601
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.38%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
06
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
9.26.8
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
11 of 11100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$9.9M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $8.8M

The organization is a joint project established in 2004 as a community based federally qualified health center under a co-application made by the North Fork Valley Community Health board and the university of kentucky college of medicine. The health center has clinics in hazard, kentucky (perry county) and in 2009 expanded its service area to include the june buchanon clinic in hindman, kentucky (knott county). The organization provided approximately $92,101 in charity care at cost in fye25

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$11M$10M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$11M$10M95.4%$7.9M—
FY2024 ⓘ$11M$10.0M92.3%$6.8M—
FY2023 ⓘ$11M$9.1M93.5%$5.4M—
FY2022 ⓘ$9.2M$9.2M93.3%$3.5M—
FY2021 ⓘ$10M$8.8M86.7%$3.5M—
FY2020 ⓘ$11M$9.2M86.9%$2.2M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b11 · 11 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 611

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from North Fork Valley Community Health Board's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for North Fork Valley Community Health Board, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All unclassified charities · Largest charities in Kentucky

Questions people ask

How much of North Fork Valley Community Health Board's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, North Fork Valley Community Health Board reported that 95.4% of its $10.4 million in expenses went to program services, 4.6% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does North Fork Valley Community Health Board get its money?

Of $11.5 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 23.5% came from contributions and grants (including 21.3% from government grants) and 75.6% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is North Fork Valley Community Health Board a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 77-0651881 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202621279349302492 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202500679349300900 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202441169349301714 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202331289349301223 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202221319349303342 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202023529349300302 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 77-0651881: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.