Charity Impact Media

Home › Health care

Cems of Ohio

Also known as Medcare Ambulance

Columbus, OH · EIN 80-0249549 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Cems of Ohio reported $30.0 million in revenue and $35.4 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $80.90 went to program services, $19.10 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 97.6% of the total. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $380,889 (CEO - PART YEAR). 3 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Revenue rose 39% between 2019 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $35M

For context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $30M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,634 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
80.9%85.6%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
19.1%13.7%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.8%1.3%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.8%0.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
97.6%93.7%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
$380,889$975,831
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
1.08%1.34%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
327
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
-10.46.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
4 of 488.9%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$29M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $30M

'the organization provided emergency and non-emergency ambulance and van transportation to 55,346 persons. Included in these services are costs associated with providing care to patients who meet certain criteria under medcare's charity care policy without charge or at amounts less than its established rates. Because medcare does not pursue collection of amounts determined to qualify as charity care, they are not reported as revenue. The amount of charges foregone for services and supplies furnished under medcare's charity care policy aggregated approximately $79,000 for a cost of…

Highest reported compensation

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here
RoleFrom this orgFrom related orgsOtherTotal
CEO - PART YEAR
Officer, 20.0 hrs/week
$0$350,430$30,459$380,889
COO
Officer, 20.0 hrs/week
$0$255,065$20,487$275,552
CFO
Officer, 20.0 hrs/week
$0$247,120$24,850$271,970
VP MEDCARE OPERATIONS
Highest compensated employee, 40.0 hrs/week
$158,364$0$35,483$193,847
ADMINISTRATIVE SUPERVISOR
Highest compensated employee, 40.0 hrs/week
$125,035$0$37,124$162,159
PARAMEDIC
Highest compensated employee, 40.0 hrs/week
$120,627$0$16,539$137,166

3 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation from Cems of Ohio (Part VII, line 2).

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M2019FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$30M$35M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$30M$35M80.9%−$31M$380,889
FY2024 ⓘ$31M$35M82.2%−$25M$305,066
FY2023 ⓘ$23M$36M83.8%−$21M$305,667
FY2022 ⓘ$19M$32M76.3%−$7.8M$405,775
FY2021 ⓘ$21M$25M78.9%$5.5M$443,383
2019 ⓘ$22M$22M90.9%$7.0M$317,776

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5378
  • Volunteers Part I, line 64

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
AAA CLUB ALLIANCE INC
Vehicle repair
$179,418
BOB CALDWELL AUTOMOTIVE
Vehicle repair
$145,763
RUSTY'S TOWING SERVICE INC
Vehicle repair
$132,744
KRIEGER FORD INC
Vehicle repair
$127,350
GOODALE AUTO-TRUCK PARTS CO
Vehicle repair
$116,103

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 6 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Cems of Ohio's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Cems of Ohio, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All health care charities · Largest charities in Ohio

Questions people ask

How much of Cems of Ohio's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Cems of Ohio reported that 80.9% of its $35.4 million in expenses went to program services, 19.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

How much does Cems of Ohio pay its top executive?

The largest total compensation Cems of Ohio reported for one person in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 was $380,889, for the role of CEO - PART YEAR (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).

Where does Cems of Ohio get its money?

Of $30.0 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 0.8% came from contributions and grants (including 0.8% from government grants) and 97.6% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Cems of Ohio a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 80-0249549 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202601359349311835 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202541359349309379 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202421369349304607 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202331359349309728 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202241309349302309 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202033169349305308 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 80-0249549: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.