Atlanta Law Center
Atlanta Law Center reported $14.7 million in revenue and $11.7 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $94.06 went to program services, $5.94 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 96.1% of the total. Revenue rose 59% between 2021 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending July 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $12MFor context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending July 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $15MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 94.1% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 5.9% | 13.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | Not reported | $0.04 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 1.5% | 19.1% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 1.5% | 1.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 96.1% | 69.9% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $331,578 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.28% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 8 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 10.5 | 13.3 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 4 of 4 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense5 filings since 2021
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 4 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 5100
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Atlanta Law Center's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Atlanta Law Center, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Atlanta Law Center spent in FY2025, $94.06 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Park Lawn School and Activity Center in COak Lawn, IL · revenue $15M · programs 92.0% · FY2025
- Mill Neck Manor School for the DeafMill Neck, NY · revenue $15M · programs 81.1% · FY2025
- Inland Leaders Charter SchoolsYucaipa, CA · revenue $15M · programs 88.6% · FY2025
- Davidson Day SchoolDavidson, NC · revenue $15M · programs 73.8% · FY2025
- Global Leadership Academy Charter SchoolPhiladelphia, PA · revenue $15M · programs 72.7% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much of Atlanta Law Center's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025, Atlanta Law Center reported that 94.1% of its $11.7 million in expenses went to program services, 5.9% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Atlanta Law Center get its money?
Of $14.7 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025, 1.5% came from contributions and grants (including 1.5% from government grants) and 96.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Atlanta Law Center a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 81-1827820 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025 (amended), object 202601639349301405 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024 (7 mo.): Form 990 for the 7-month short period ending July 31, 2024, object 202542329349300109 · read the filing
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202540229349300624 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202323199349303902 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202233199349313778 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 81-1827820: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.