Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking
Chapel & York US Foundation
Chapel & York US Foundation reported $44.8 million in revenue and $42.4 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $99.08 went to program services, $0.92 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 98.4% of the total. Revenue rose 556% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $42MFor context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $45MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 99.1% | 90.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 0.9% | 6.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 1.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 98.4% | 79.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.2% | 0.0% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $325,675 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.56% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 6.5 | 56.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 5 of 5 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
- Employees Part I, line 50
Private foundation grants it received
45 private foundations reported grants to Chapel & York US Foundation totaling $9.3M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Chapel & York US Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Chapel & York US Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Chapel & York US Foundation spent in 2024, $99.08 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Walker Area Community FoundationJasper, AL · revenue $45M · programs 90.6% · 2025
- Friendship FoundationRoanoke, VA · revenue $45M · programs 75.7% · FY2025
- Licking County FoundationNewark, OH · revenue $45M · programs 86.0% · 2024
- Minneapolis Jewish FederationMinneapolis, MN · revenue $45M · programs 85.0% · 2024
- United Way of San Antonio and Bexar CountySan Antonio, TX · revenue $44M · programs 88.3% · FY2025
All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in New York
Questions people ask
How much of Chapel & York US Foundation's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Chapel & York US Foundation reported that 99.1% of its $42.4 million in expenses went to program services, 0.9% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Chapel & York US Foundation get its money?
Of $44.8 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 98.4% came from contributions and grants and 0.2% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Chapel & York US Foundation a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 81-2161937 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202503179349303805 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202510439349301026 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202303189349309725 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202233199349304113 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202113079349301901 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202023019349301197 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 81-2161937: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.