Charity Impact Media

Home › Health care

Indiana University Health Frankfort

Indianapolis, IN · EIN 81-5174295 · 501(c)(3) · Hospital or medical research organization
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Indiana University Health Frankfort reported $31.9 million in revenue and $32.8 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $95.75 went to program services, $4.25 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 100.0% of the total. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $1,064,882 (DIRECTOR). Revenue rose 15% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $33M

For context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $32M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 5,634 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
95.8%85.6%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
4.2%13.7%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%1.3%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
100.0%93.7%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
$1,064,882$975,831
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
3.25%1.34%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported27
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
-3.86.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
8 of 1488.9%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$31M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $13,500 · revenue $32M

Indiana University Health Frankfort, Inc. (IU Health Frankfort Hospital), located in Frankfort, Indiana, opened a new, replacement hospital in 2020. The new patient-experience-centered hospital is a single-story facility that is approximately 48,000 square -feet. IU Health Frankfort Hospital offers a comprehensive range of healthcare services that includes 24-hour emergency care, laboratory and imaging services, surgical suites, physical and occupational therapy, as well as prenatal, cardiovascular, and pulmonary services

Highest reported compensation

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here
RoleFrom this orgFrom related orgsOtherTotal
DIRECTOR
Director/trustee, 2.0 hrs/week
$0$996,753$68,129$1,064,882
PRESIDENT (WCR)
Officer, 10.0 hrs/week
$0$848,653$170,264$1,018,917
DIRECTOR
Director/trustee, 2.0 hrs/week
$0$922,291$78,678$1,000,969
Director
Director/trustee, 2.0 hrs/week
$0$826,411$68,190$894,601
FORMER KEY EMPLOYEE
Former, 10.0 hrs/week
$0$655,505$66,999$722,504
DIRECTOR (Part Year)
Director/trustee, 2.0 hrs/week
$0$629,341$29,763$659,104
VP-Chief Physician Executive (WCR)
Key employee, 10.0 hrs/week
$0$473,047$66,999$540,046
FORMER OFFICER
Former, 0.0 hrs/week
$0$430,208$77,430$507,638

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$32M$33M95.8%−$10M$1,064,882
2023 ⓘ$28M$32M95.7%−$9.5M$937,200
2022 ⓘ$31M$30M95.3%−$5.3M$866,286
2021 ⓘ$35M$28M95.4%−$6.3M$1,278,491
2020 ⓘ$25M$29M70.8%−$14M$923,177
2019 ⓘ$28M$26M68.0%−$9.7M$835,444

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b14 · 8 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5191
  • Volunteers Part I, line 664

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Indiana University Health Frankfort's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Indiana University Health Frankfort, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Indiana University Health Frankfort's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Indiana University Health Frankfort reported that 95.8% of its $32.8 million in expenses went to program services, 4.2% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

How much does Indiana University Health Frankfort pay its top executive?

The largest total compensation Indiana University Health Frankfort reported for one person in calendar year 2024 was $1,064,882, for the role of DIRECTOR (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).

Where does Indiana University Health Frankfort get its money?

Of $31.9 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 100.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Indiana University Health Frankfort a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 81-5174295 as a 501(c)(3) organization (hospital or medical research organization), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202503179349308500 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202413179349306511 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202333189349314488 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202243189349310564 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202113139349302426 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202013189349303286 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 81-5174295: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.