Charity Impact Media

Home › Housing & shelter

Boise Housing Corporation

Boise, ID · EIN 82-0474138 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2025 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Boise Housing Corporation reported $36.0 million in revenue and $27.5 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $98.13 went to program services, $1.87 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 51.2% of the total. Government grants made up 31.3%. Revenue rose 95% between 2019 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $27M

For context, the median across 933 covered housing & shelter charities: $89.27 programs, $10.73 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $36M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2025 filing. Median across 933 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
98.1%87.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
1.9%10.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
43.4%17.0%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
31.3%1.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
51.2%66.2%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$300,863
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.57%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
Not reported5
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
12.510.0
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
4 of 7100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$27M expenses · 99.8% of program spending · revenue $36M

Bhc currently has ownership in over 60 affordable housing projects which are rented to low income families in idaho and oregon

$63,787 all other programs (line 4d)

7 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M2019202020212022202320242025$36M$27M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2025 ⓘ$36M$27M98.1%$29M—
2024 ⓘ$28M$24M97.5%$15M—
2023 ⓘ$25M$23M98.0%$12M—
2022 ⓘ$23M$22M98.7%$9.6M—
2021 ⓘ$22M$21M97.6%$8.1M—
2020 ⓘ$22M$21M98.8%$7.8M—
2019 ⓘ$18M$18M97.3%$3.2M—

Governance answers, as filed

2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b7 · 4 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26Yes
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Boise Housing Corporation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Boise Housing Corporation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All housing & shelter charities · Largest charities in Idaho

Questions people ask

How much of Boise Housing Corporation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2025, Boise Housing Corporation reported that 98.1% of its $27.5 million in expenses went to program services, 1.9% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Boise Housing Corporation get its money?

Of $36.0 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 43.4% came from contributions and grants (including 31.3% from government grants) and 51.2% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Boise Housing Corporation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 82-0474138 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202642089349300224 · read the filing
  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202541989349300934 · read the filing
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202442139349301134 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202341399349300819 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202221469349301512 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202111539349300146 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202002039349300710 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 82-0474138: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.