Charity Impact Media

Home › Civil rights, social action & advocacy

Priorities USA Foundation

Washington, DC · EIN 82-0675521 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Priorities USA Foundation reported $18.9 million in revenue and $19.1 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $96.18 went to program services, $1.84 to management and general costs and $1.98 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.0% of the total. Revenue rose 111% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $19M

For context, the median across 132 covered civil rights, social action & advocacy charities: $84.11 programs, $11.40 management, $4.49 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $19M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 132 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
96.2%82.1%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
1.8%11.1%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
2.0%4.4%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.02$0.05
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
99.0%94.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.1%0.3%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$321,771
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.81%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
5.010.5
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
2 of 2100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$15M expenses · 82.9% of program spending · grants $13M · revenue $20,000

Digital media:the Priorities USA Foundation used digital communications to educate and mobilize american voters to cast their ballots

$3.1M expenses · 17.1% of program spending · grants $3.1M

Voter access litigation:Priorities USA Foundation funded and supported litigation to protect full and fair access to the ballot and ensure that no voter is deprived of their right to vote as guaranteed by the U.S. Constitution and the voting rights act. When state legislatures passed laws that made it harder for eligible citizens to vote, the foundation pursued litigation to ensure that they were overturned or weakened in court, successfully protecting citizens' access to the ballot in several states

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M201920202021202220232024$19M$19M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$19M$19M96.2%$8.0M—
2023 ⓘ$9.1M$7.0M90.2%$8.3M—
2022 ⓘ$10M$13M96.2%$6.2M—
2021 ⓘ$9.0M$2.1M93.7%$8.8M—
2020 ⓘ$8.2M$9.4M96.0%$1.8M—
2019 ⓘ$8.9M$7.7M95.7%$3.1M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b2 · 2 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18Yes
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
INFLUIST INC
Marketing consulting
$850,000
ELIAS LAW GROUP
Legal services
$180,456
MILES STRATEGIES LLC
Strategy consulting
$155,000

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 3 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

2 private foundations reported grants to Priorities USA Foundation totaling $250K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Priorities USA Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Priorities USA Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All civil rights, social action & advocacy charities · Largest charities in District of Columbia

Questions people ask

How much of Priorities USA Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Priorities USA Foundation reported that 96.2% of its $19.1 million in expenses went to program services, 1.8% to management and general and 2.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Priorities USA Foundation get its money?

Of $18.9 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 99.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Priorities USA Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 82-0675521 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202503219349303775 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202413209349302466 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202313199349304791 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202213199349315641 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202113129349301521 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202003149349301420 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 82-0675521: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.