Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

University Impact

Provo, UT · EIN 82-1504018 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

University Impact reported $185.4 million in revenue and $44.5 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $96.68 went to program services, $2.64 to management and general costs and $0.68 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 93.7% of the total. Revenue rose 54431% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $45M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $185M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
96.7%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
2.6%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.7%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
93.7%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
103.313.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
6 of 8100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$42M expenses · 97.8% of program spending · grants $42M · revenue $168K

University Impact serves as a sponsoring organization as described in code section 4966(d)(1) and maintains a portfolio of donor advised funds dafs. Each daf is an account: I. Separately identified by reference to contributions of a donor or donors; ii. Owned and controlled by University Impact; iii. And has advisory, non-binding privileges with respect to the distributions or investments of the daf funds

$773K expenses · 1.8% of program spending · grants $773K · revenue $217K

The corporation also acts as a fiscal sponsor for emerging charitable projects that have not yet received federal tax exemption

$156K expenses · 0.4% of program spending · grants $156K · revenue $43,831

University Impact held a number of online training sessions and also helped perform due diligence

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$50M$100M$150M$200M201920202021202220232024$185M$45M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$185M$45M96.7%$383M—
2023 ⓘ$129M$31M94.6%$229M$6,000
2022 ⓘ$97M$18M87.8%$135M$9,616
2021 ⓘ$80M$11M96.5%$65M—
2020 ⓘ$5.4M$862K93.6%$4.5M$54,808
2019 ⓘ$340K$355K93.4%−$15,429$59,615

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b8 · 6 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26Yes
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 517
  • Volunteers Part I, line 673

Largest outside contractors

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
UI Ventures LLC
Management & investment services
$2,294,003
River Ridge Renovations LLC
Hotel Renovations Services
$969,000

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 2 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

5 private foundations reported grants to University Impact totaling $565K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from University Impact's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for University Impact, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All education charities · Largest charities in Utah

Questions people ask

How much of University Impact's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, University Impact reported that 96.7% of its $44.5 million in expenses went to program services, 2.6% to management and general and 0.7% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does University Impact get its money?

Of $185.4 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 93.7% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is University Impact a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 82-1504018 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202523179349304842 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202433209349326043 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202333189349305748 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202301459349301230 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202112299349300021 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202011959349303721 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 82-1504018: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.