Charity Impact Media

Home › Health care

Hudson East River Systems Llc

New York, NY · EIN 82-2253311 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Hudson East River Systems Llc reported $156.9 million in revenue and $8.4 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $0.00 went to program services, $100.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 100.0% of the total. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $3,273,376 (PRESIDENT). Revenue rose 16% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $8.4M

For context, the median across 5,634 covered health care charities: $86.19 programs, $13.81 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $157M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 5,634 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%85.6%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
100.0%13.7%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%1.3%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%93.7%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
$3,273,376$975,831
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
38.75%1.34%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
027
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.06.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
Not reported88.9%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$0 expenses

Receive, hold, manage and invest the non-erisa investment assets of the company's members and to support the delivery of health care to the public by its support of the company's members and to conduct any other activities that may be necessary, useful, or desirable for the furtherance or accomplishment of the foregoing purposes, provided those activities would not endanger the company's tax exempt status

Highest reported compensation

2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here
RoleFrom this orgFrom related orgsOtherTotal
PRESIDENT
Officer, 0.5 hrs/week
$0$3,178,968$94,408$3,273,376
CHIEF INVESTMENT OFFICER
Officer, 0.5 hrs/week
$0$2,776,459$78,191$2,854,650
TREASURER
Officer, 0.5 hrs/week
$0$1,564,502$116,194$1,680,696
ASSISTANT TREASURER
Officer, 0.5 hrs/week
$0$1,027,556$88,753$1,116,309

0 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation from Hudson East River Systems Llc (Part VII, line 2).

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$157M$8.4M0.0%$0$3,273,376
2023 ⓘ$136M$10M0.0%$0$2,705,003
2022 ⓘ$13M$9.0M0.0%$0$2,293,059
2021 ⓘ$309M$11M0.0%$0$2,639,720
2020 ⓘ$82M$10M0.0%$0$2,307,277
2019 ⓘ$135M$8.8M0.0%$0$2,178,148

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Hudson East River Systems Llc's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Hudson East River Systems Llc, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Hudson East River Systems Llc's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Hudson East River Systems Llc reported that 0.0% of its $8.4 million in expenses went to program services, 100.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

How much does Hudson East River Systems Llc pay its top executive?

The largest total compensation Hudson East River Systems Llc reported for one person in calendar year 2024 was $3,273,376, for the role of PRESIDENT (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).

Where does Hudson East River Systems Llc get its money?

Of $156.9 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Hudson East River Systems Llc a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 82-2253311 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202513189349305626 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202423189349310112 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202313189349308736 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202213139349306161 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202143549349300969 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202013179349309026 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 82-2253311: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.