Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking
Community Trust of Utah
Community Trust of Utah reported $41.0 million in revenue and $33.4 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $95.36 went to program services, $4.64 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 60.3% of the total. Revenue rose 37% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $33MFor context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $41MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 95.4% | 90.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 4.6% | 6.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 1.8% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 60.3% | 79.9% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $325,675 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.56% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 3 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 8.3 | 56.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 5 of 5 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
- Volunteers Part I, line 65
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Community Trust of Utah's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Community Trust of Utah, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Community Trust of Utah spent in 2024, $95.36 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Jewish Federation of Northern New JerseyParamus, NJ · revenue $41M · programs 81.5% · FY2025
- CandidNew York, NY · revenue $41M · programs 75.7% · 2025
- William and Ruth Scott Family FoundationOmaha, NE · revenue $41M · programs 100.0% · 2024
- Co-Impact Philanthropic FundsNew York, NY · revenue $41M · programs 91.7% · 2024
- Harlem RbiNew York, NY · revenue $41M · programs 78.6% · FY2025
All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in Utah
Questions people ask
How much of Community Trust of Utah's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Community Trust of Utah reported that 95.4% of its $33.4 million in expenses went to program services, 4.6% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Community Trust of Utah get its money?
Of $41.0 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 60.3% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Community Trust of Utah a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 82-3365355 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202513189349311261 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202433189349303893 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202303199349310750 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202213199349322336 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202143199349317574 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202043219349308589 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 82-3365355: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.