Charity Impact Media

Home › Arts, culture & humanities

Abilene Heritage Square

Abilene, TX · EIN 82-3454890 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Abilene Heritage Square reported $14.3 million in revenue and $232,178 in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $18.48 went to program services, $29.09 to management and general costs and $52.43 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 86.7% of the total. Revenue fell 34% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $232K

For context, the median across 876 covered arts, culture & humanities charities: $79.98 programs, $13.89 management, $6.13 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $14M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 876 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
18.5%78.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
29.1%13.6%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
52.4%6.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.01$0.10
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
86.7%57.5%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.7%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%20.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$385,706
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported2.03%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
4,733.536.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
28 of 28100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$42,901 expenses · 100.0% of program spending

Raise funding to rehabilitate and construct the space for the future library and public programs

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$10M$20M$30M$40MFY2020FY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$14M$232K
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$14M$232K18.5%$92M—
FY2024 ⓘ$22M$182K15.3%$78M—
FY2023 ⓘ$6.2M$300K58.1%$56M—
FY2022 ⓘ$2.3M$207K97.1%$50M—
FY2021 ⓘ$6.8M$158K96.3%$48M—
FY2020 ⓘ$22M$282K97.7%$41M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b28 · 28 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2Yes
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 640

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
LINBECK GROUP LLC
Construction
$8,702,651
AML ENVIRONMENTAL LP
Consulting
$147,210

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 3 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

8 private foundations reported grants to Abilene Heritage Square totaling $9.0M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Abilene Heritage Square's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Abilene Heritage Square, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All arts, culture & humanities charities · Largest charities in Texas

Questions people ask

How much of Abilene Heritage Square's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Abilene Heritage Square reported that 18.5% of its $232,178 in expenses went to program services, 29.1% to management and general and 52.4% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Abilene Heritage Square get its money?

Of $14.3 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 86.7% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Abilene Heritage Square a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 82-3454890 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202503119349304175 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202443179349306689 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202303079349303170 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202320389349301212 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202133129349301703 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202003159349305470 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 82-3454890: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.