Advocate Aurora Health
Advocate Aurora Health reported $71.5 million in revenue and negative $353.5 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 38.9% of the total. Government grants made up 9.1%. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $30,862,679 (CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER). 33 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Revenue fell 17% between 2019 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
This filing does not split expenses by function (Part IX columns B–D), so there is no breakdown for 2024.
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $71MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | Not reported | 85.6% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | Not reported | 13.7% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | Not reported | 0.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | $0.00 | $0.00 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 11.4% | 1.3% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 9.1% | 0.1% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 38.9% | 93.7% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | $30,862,679 | $975,831 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.34% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 33 | 27 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | Not reported | 6.6 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 9 of 12 | 88.9% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseAdvocate Aurora Health, inc. And its affiliates (aah) constitute an integrated health care system providing health care services to communities throughout illinois, eastern wisconsin, and the upper peninsula of michigan. Aah provides a variety of health care related activities, education, philanthropic, medical research and other benefits to the communities in which they operate. Health care services include primary and specialty care, pharmacies, behavioral health care, emergency care, rehabilitation, home care, and end-of-life care
Highest reported compensation
2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here| Role | From this org | From related orgs | Other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER Director/trustee, officer, 55.00 hrs/week | $28,850,544 | $0 | $2,012,135 | $30,862,679 |
| PRESIDENT Director/trustee, officer, 55.00 hrs/week | $7,191,882 | $0 | $674,339 | $7,866,221 |
| CHIEF MEDICAL OFFICER Key employee, 55.00 hrs/week | $4,546,690 | $0 | $485,239 | $5,031,929 |
| FORMER OFFICER Former, 0.00 hrs/week | $3,375,856 | $0 | $1,231,995 | $4,607,851 |
| FORMER OFFICER Former, 0.00 hrs/week | $0 | $4,324,005 | $0 | $4,324,005 |
| SECRETARY Officer, 1.00 hrs/week | $0 | $3,545,376 | $462,832 | $4,008,208 |
| CHIEF INFORMATION OFFICER Key employee, 55.00 hrs/week | $3,178,742 | $0 | $537,282 | $3,716,024 |
| CHIEF BUSINESS DEVELOPMENT OFFICER Key employee, 55.00 hrs/week | $3,362,958 | $0 | $341,412 | $3,704,370 |
33 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation from Advocate Aurora Health (Part VII, line 2). Compensation of current officers, directors and key employees totaled $68M (Part IX, line 5).
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b12 · 9 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 515,184
Largest outside contractors
2024 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only| ELEVANCE HEALTH INC Medical services | $5,670,000 |
| TTEC DIGITAL LLC Professional consulting | $4,699,586 |
| TRAVEL NURSE ACROSS AMERICA LLC Staffing | $4,045,363 |
| CHICAGO PROFESSIONAL SPORTS LIMITED Other services | $3,590,942 |
| FORWARD SPACE LLC Professional consulting | $2,283,135 |
Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 67 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Advocate Aurora Health's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Advocate Aurora Health, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Where Advocate Aurora Health's money comes from and goes, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Burrell-PreferredSpringfield, MO · revenue $71M · programs 80.3% · FY2025
- Grinnell Regional Medical CenterGrinnell, IA · revenue $72M · programs 95.1% · 2024
- Kaua'i Medical ClinicHonolulu, HI · revenue $71M · programs 97.9% · FY2025
- William F Ryan Community Health CenterNew York, NY · revenue $72M · programs 85.1% · 2024
- Hackley SchoolTarrytown, NY · revenue $71M · programs 86.1% · FY2025
Questions people ask
How much does Advocate Aurora Health pay its top executive?
The largest total compensation Advocate Aurora Health reported for one person in calendar year 2024 was $30,862,679, for the role of CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).
Where does Advocate Aurora Health get its money?
Of $71.5 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 11.4% came from contributions and grants (including 9.1% from government grants) and 38.9% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Advocate Aurora Health a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 82-4184596 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization, type iii functionally integrated), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202503219349328340 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202443219349300224 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202313209349301736 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202223209349301202 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202103209349301125 · read the filing
- 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202003229349300825 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 82-4184596: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.