Charity Impact Media

Home › Housing & shelter

Montage Living

Charlotte, NC · EIN 82-5217687 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2023 (tax year 2023) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Montage Living reported $32.3 million in revenue and $45.2 million in expenses for calendar year 2023. Of every $100 it spent, $90.70 went to program services, $9.30 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 99.1% of the total. Revenue rose 113% between 2019 and 2023. Source: Form 990, 2023.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2023 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $45M

For context, the median across 933 covered housing & shelter charities: $89.27 programs, $10.73 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2023 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $32M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2023 filing. Median across 933 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2023Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
90.7%87.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
9.3%10.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%17.0%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
99.1%66.2%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$300,863
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.57%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
05
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
-14.110.0
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
5 of 5100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2023 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$23M expenses · 57.2% of program spending · revenue $19M

Assisted living is provided to elderly residents (over age 55) who receive assistance with all activities of daily living, planned activities and nutritious dietician approved meals, as well as rehabilitation services as needed. The organization offers recreational activities, including book clubs, garden clubs, fitness opportunities and off-site outing. Transportation is included to worship services, cultural events and shopping. Programs are provided to assist residents with health management, housekeeping, personal care and other general lifestyle needs. Rental rates are set at or below…

$2.3M expenses · 5.7% of program spending · revenue $1.8M

Memory care facility residents receive additional medical services to meet these residents' unique medical needs. Those living with Alzheimer's or other related diseases of dementia are given a safe and welcoming environment. Assistance is offered for activities of daily living, dietician approved meals, in-house rehabilitation, limited medical care, transportation for off-site medical examinations and follow-up treatment. Rental rates are set at or below market rate for the area as determined by a third party analysts with other services provided at the lowest feasible cost

$15M expenses · 37.1% of program spending · revenue $12M

The independent living community program has a 24-hour staff and features various size accommodations with private living quarters. Independent living residents enjoy the amenities of the facilities. Daily events and activities designed to engage residents and promote continued independence and activity is provided by the organization's staff. The organization also offers transportation for activities, medical care and worship services. Housing is available at rates that are within the financial reach of a significant segment of the elderly population with rates that are set at or below the…

$3,268 all other programs (line 4d)

5 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2023 ⓘ$32M$45M90.7%−$53M—
2022 ⓘ$26M$42M91.4%−$40M—
2021 ⓘ$24M$33M91.6%−$24M—
2020 ⓘ$25M$31M91.6%−$15M—
2019 ⓘ$15M$23M91.3%−$9.6M—

Governance answers, as filed

2023 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 5892
  • Volunteers Part I, line 65

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Montage Living's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Montage Living, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Montage Living's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2023, Montage Living reported that 90.7% of its $45.2 million in expenses went to program services, 9.3% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Montage Living get its money?

Of $32.3 million in revenue in calendar year 2023, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 99.1% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Montage Living a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 82-5217687 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202443209349320444 · read the filing · XML
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202323199349318262 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202203199349311005 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202113199349302091 · read the filing
  • 2019: Form 990 for calendar year 2019, object 202033189349303278 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 82-5217687: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.