Exceptional Community Services
Exceptional Community Services reported $10.9 million in revenue and $8.2 million in expenses for calendar year 2023. Of every $100 it spent, $71.09 went to program services, $28.91 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 100.0% of the total. Source: Form 990, 2023.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2023 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $8.2MFor context, the median across 3,614 covered human services charities: $88.27 programs, $11.52 management, $0.21 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2023 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2023 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 71.1% | 87.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 28.9% | 11.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.2% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | Not reported | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 20.6% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 2.4% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 100.0% | 70.8% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $274,992 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 1.18% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 6 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 23.4 | 6.9 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 0 of 4 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2023 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense3 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2023 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b4 · 0 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
- Document retention policy Part VI 14No
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Exceptional Community Services's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Exceptional Community Services, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Exceptional Community Services spent in 2023, $71.09 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Questions people ask
How much of Exceptional Community Services's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2023, Exceptional Community Services reported that 71.1% of its $8.2 million in expenses went to program services, 28.9% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Exceptional Community Services get its money?
Of $10.9 million in revenue in calendar year 2023, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 100.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Exceptional Community Services a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 83-0489354 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2021, 2022, 2023. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202412149349300516 · read the filing · XML
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202440329349301344 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202410319349301326 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 83-0489354: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.