Charity Impact Media

Home › Arts, culture & humanities

St Martins Chamber Choir

Denver, CO · EIN 84-1450958 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

St Martins Chamber Choir reported $10.4 million in revenue and $265,123 in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $74.76 went to program services, $13.23 to management and general costs and $12.01 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.0% of the total. Revenue rose 4088% between FY2021 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $265K

For context, the median across 876 covered arts, culture & humanities charities: $79.98 programs, $13.89 management, $6.13 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $10M

Other revenue was negative: −$775. The bar shows the positive sources only.

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 876 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
74.8%78.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
13.2%13.6%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
12.0%6.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.10
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
99.0%57.5%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.6%1.7%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.5%20.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$385,706
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported2.03%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
511.736.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
15 of 15100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$167K expenses · 84.2% of program spending · revenue $54,633

Concert Program: St. Martin's Chamber Choir presented 7 concert series which had over 2,400 attendees, all of which were live-streamed reaching over 200 people

$11,669 expenses · 5.9% of program spending

Education Program: St. Martin's chamber Choir conducted 10 school workshops, serving over 400 students from elementary to middle school ages

$6,779 expenses · 3.4% of program spending

Community Outreach Program: St. Martin's Chamber Choir conducted three senior center concerts and continued the Nathaniel Dett Fellowship position, a paid position for a singer from a historically marginalized community

$12,815 all other programs (line 4d)

5 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$10M$265K
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$10M$265K74.8%$11M—
FY2024 ⓘ$321K$265K74.5%$233K—
FY2023 ⓘ$295K$258K74.6%$179K—
FY2022 ⓘ$259K$230K75.6%$137K—
FY2021 ⓘ$247K$191K70.5%$108K$350

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b15 · 15 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aNo
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 53
  • Volunteers Part I, line 610

Private foundation grants it received

2 private foundations reported grants to St Martins Chamber Choir totaling $1,100 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from St Martins Chamber Choir's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for St Martins Chamber Choir, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All arts, culture & humanities charities · Largest charities in Colorado

Questions people ask

How much of St Martins Chamber Choir's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, St Martins Chamber Choir reported that 74.8% of its $265,123 in expenses went to program services, 13.2% to management and general and 12.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does St Martins Chamber Choir get its money?

Of $10.4 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 99.0% came from contributions and grants (including 0.6% from government grants) and 0.5% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is St Martins Chamber Choir a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 84-1450958 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202610849349300206 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202511039349300201 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202441069349300429 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202321039349300532 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202103569349301245 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 84-1450958: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.