Charity Impact Media

Home › Community improvement & capacity building

4MyCity

Baltimore, MD · EIN 84-2908913 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2025 (tax year 2025) · View the filing · Correct or respond

4MyCity reported $21.5 million in revenue and $21.6 million in expenses for calendar year 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $98.92 went to program services, $0.89 to management and general costs and $0.19 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. Revenue fell 43% between 2020 and 2025. Source: Form 990, 2025.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $22M

For context, the median across 479 covered community improvement & capacity building charities: $90.45 programs, $9.31 management, $0.24 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $21M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2025 filing. Median across 479 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
98.9%89.1%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.9%9.2%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.2%0.2%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
100.0%80.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.9%14.9%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%11.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$291,103
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.49%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
05
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.39.2
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
5 of 5100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$21M expenses · 100.0% of program spending

Since 2018, 4MyCiTy Inc. has rescued and redistributed over 500 million pounds of food, providing nutritious meals to more than 13,000 households (90,000 individuals) while diverting 75 million pounds of food waste from landfills through our 24-hour composting process. Our programs, Food Rescue To Go, Compost On The Go, 4MyCiTyU Job Training, and Health Connect, create jobs, reduce emissions, and improve community health. Our mobile app expanded participant tracking of savings, impact, and volunteer hours, helping families move from food insecurity to self-sufficiency and supporting our…

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$20M$40M$60M$80M202020212022202320242025$21M$22M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2025 ⓘ$21M$22M98.9%$482K—
2024 ⓘ$26M$26M99.4%$631K—
2023 ⓘ$16M$16M99.2%$134K—
2022 ⓘ$20M$20M98.9%$144K—
2021 ⓘ$71M$71M99.8%$198K$66,346
2020 ⓘ$38M$37M99.7%$326K$279,327

Governance answers, as filed

2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 519
  • Volunteers Part I, line 61,235

Private foundation grants it received

3 private foundations reported grants to 4MyCity totaling $95,059 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from 4MyCity's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for 4MyCity, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All community improvement & capacity building charities · Largest charities in Maryland

Questions people ask

How much of 4MyCity's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2025, 4MyCity reported that 98.9% of its $21.6 million in expenses went to program services, 0.9% to management and general and 0.2% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does 4MyCity get its money?

Of $21.5 million in revenue in calendar year 2025, 100.0% came from contributions and grants (including 0.9% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is 4MyCity a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 84-2908913 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024, 2025. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2025: Form 990 for calendar year 2025, object 202621879349301502 · read the filing · XML
  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202533119349302888 · read the filing
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202423189349310102 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202342589349301319 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202232429349300313 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202121729349300347 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 84-2908913: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.