Legacy Cares
Legacy Cares reported $333.5 million in revenue and $13.8 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $0.00 went to program services, $100.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was investment income: 0.0% of the total. Revenue rose 2020568% between 2020 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.
Where $100 of spending went
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $14MFor context, the median across 237 covered recreation & sports charities: $88.05 programs, $10.89 management, $1.06 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $333MThe 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | 2024 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 84.4% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 100.0% | 10.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 1.0% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | Not reported | $0.05 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 25.2% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 0.0% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 61.0% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | Not reported | $365,322 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | Not reported | 2.14% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | 0 | 6 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 0.1 | 14.9 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 1 of 1 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseOn may 1, 2023 taxpayer (debtor) filed a voluntary petition for relief under chapter 11 of the bankruptcy code in the district of arizona. Debtor hired an investment banking firm to conduct a marketing process for the sale of the property and related operations. The debtor obtained formal approval from the bankruptcy court to establish a competitive sale and auction process for the assets. Subsequently, on december 14, 2023, substantially all debtor's assets were sold. Limited secured claims were resolved with proceeds from the sale of debtor's assets. The remaining substantial debts…
5 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b1 · 1 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Legacy Cares's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Legacy Cares, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Legacy Cares spent in 2024, $0.00 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Questions people ask
How much of Legacy Cares's spending goes to programs?
In calendar year 2024, Legacy Cares reported that 0.0% of its $13.8 million in expenses went to program services, 100.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
Where does Legacy Cares get its money?
Of $333.5 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Legacy Cares a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 84-3520422 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202533049349302653 · read the filing · XML
- 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202520509349300842 · read the filing
- 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202440929349301419 · read the filing
- 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202223119349301867 · read the filing
- 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202143199349310459 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 84-3520422: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.