Charity Impact Media

Home › Mental health & crisis intervention

Med-Project USA

Washington, DC · EIN 84-3694182 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Med-Project USA reported $35.4 million in revenue and $36.5 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $85.22 went to program services, $14.78 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 96.3% of the total. 47 people received more than $100,000 in reportable compensation. Revenue rose 24% between 2020 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $36M

For context, the median across 864 covered mental health & crisis intervention charities: $86.13 programs, $13.87 management, $0.00 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $35M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 864 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
85.2%85.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
14.8%13.7%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.00
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%26.4%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%14.5%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
96.3%69.3%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$324,111
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
478
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
4.66.2
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
8 of 8100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$31M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $170K · revenue $34M

Collection and disposal: activities include, but are not limited to: (I) public outreach and education to patients, health care providers, and other relevant stakeholders on the safe storage of medications and the appropriate, safe and secure disposal of household-generated unwanted pharmaceutical products; (ii) the collection and disposal of household-generated unwanted pharmaceutical products; (iii) program administration related to and required by (I) and (ii) above

5 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$35M$36M85.2%$14M—
2023 ⓘ$35M$36M84.2%$15M—
2022 ⓘ$36M$34M83.3%$16M—
2021 ⓘ$33M$31M84.9%$14M—
2020 ⓘ$28M$29M76.8%$13M—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b8 · 8 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aYes
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4Yes
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 68

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Med-Project USA's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Med-Project USA, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of Med-Project USA's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Med-Project USA reported that 85.2% of its $36.5 million in expenses went to program services, 14.8% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Med-Project USA get its money?

Of $35.4 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 96.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Med-Project USA a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 84-3694182 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202503189349307790 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202423189349302972 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202323199349317362 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202233199349307203 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202103199349307155 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 84-3694182: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.