Charity Impact Media

Home › Public & societal benefit

Saban Center Foundation

Tuscaloosa, AL · EIN 84-4019590 · 501(c)(3) · Supporting organization, Type I
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Saban Center Foundation reported $11.4 million in revenue and $4.5 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $86.26 went to program services, $3.49 to management and general costs and $10.25 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 99.4% of the total. Revenue rose 5601% between FY2021 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $4.5M

For context, the median across 190 covered public & societal benefit charities: $88.97 programs, $11.02 management, $0.01 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending September 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 190 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
86.3%85.0%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
3.5%10.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
10.3%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.04$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
99.4%84.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%3.1%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$358,596
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.53%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
011
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
30.210.7
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
5 of 5100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
— expenses

Fund raising activities devoted to the development of the discovery learning center in tuscaloosa, al

6 filings since FY2020 (10 mo.)

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpensesShort periods (after a fiscal-year change) are in the table, not the chart.
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$11M$4.5M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$11M$4.5M86.3%$11M—
FY2024 ⓘ$4.5M$3.3M79.6%$4.6M$174,933
FY2023 ⓘ$2.9M$539K0.0%$3.4M$174,933
FY2022 ⓘ$1.3M$719K0.0%$1.0M$156,998
FY2021 ⓘ$200K$0—$400K—
FY2020 (10 mo.) ⓘ$200K$0—$200K—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Private foundation grants it received

4 private foundations reported grants to Saban Center Foundation totaling $565K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Saban Center Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Saban Center Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All public & societal benefit charities · Largest charities in Alabama

Questions people ask

How much of Saban Center Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, Saban Center Foundation reported that 86.3% of its $4.5 million in expenses went to program services, 3.5% to management and general and 10.3% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Saban Center Foundation get its money?

Of $11.4 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, 99.4% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Saban Center Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 84-4019590 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization, type i), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2025, object 202622179349301277 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2024, object 202512259349301906 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2023, object 202442289349301989 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2022, object 202302279349304185 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending September 30, 2021, object 202210469349302621 · read the filing
  • FY2020 (10 mo.): Form 990 for the 10-month short period ending September 30, 2020, object 202142309349301719 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 84-4019590: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.