Charity Impact Media

Home › Human services

Muna Social Services

Brooklyn, NY · EIN 84-4338493 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Muna Social Services reported $12.2 million in revenue and $12.3 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $99.89 went to program services, $0.11 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $12M

For context, the median across 3,614 covered human services charities: $88.27 programs, $11.52 management, $0.21 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $12M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 3,614 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
99.9%87.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.1%11.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.2%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
100.0%20.6%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
1.3%2.4%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%70.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$274,992
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.18%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
06
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.26.9
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
5 of 5100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$12M expenses · 100.0% of program spending

Hunger prevention Muna Social Services strives to fight hunger through a network of halal food pantries designed to meet this pressing need in our communities. The COVID-19 pandemic and tarif related inflation also surged the demand for food due to increased unemployment rates. Aim high academy is striving to help disadvantaged middle and high school students with after school programs aiming to increase graduation rates and enrollment in to highly sought schools

3 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20M202220232024$12M$12M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$12M$12M99.9%$243K—
2023 ⓘ$4.5M$4.4M100.0%$348K—
2022 (amended) ⓘ$368K$136K100.0%$223K—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b5 · 5 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 52
  • Volunteers Part I, line 6780

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to Muna Social Services totaling $250 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Muna Social Services's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Muna Social Services, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All human services charities · Largest charities in New York

Questions people ask

How much of Muna Social Services's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Muna Social Services reported that 99.9% of its $12.3 million in expenses went to program services, 0.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Muna Social Services get its money?

Of $12.2 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 100.0% came from contributions and grants (including 1.3% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Muna Social Services a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 84-4338493 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202521359349318092 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202413049349302191 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022 (amended), object 202343219349301029 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 84-4338493: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.