Charity Impact Media

Home › Philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking

Mosdos Hatorah Vhachesed of Pnei Menachem

Brooklyn, NY · EIN 84-4693764 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Mosdos Hatorah Vhachesed of Pnei Menachem reported $10.8 million in revenue and $14.0 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $83.82 went to program services, $1.39 to management and general costs and $14.79 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. Revenue rose 551% between FY2021 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending January 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $14M

For context, the median across 1,001 covered philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities: $91.65 programs, $6.50 management, $1.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending January 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $11M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 1,001 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
83.8%90.2%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
1.4%6.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
14.8%1.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.19$0.02
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
100.0%79.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%0.0%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$325,675
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.56%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
03
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
-2.856.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
0 of 3100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$14M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · grants $12M · revenue $11M

To foster, promote and advance theological torah study, charity, and practice of orthodox judaism worldwide

5 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpenses
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2021FY2022FY2023FY2024FY2025$11M$14M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$11M$14M83.8%−$3.3M—
FY2024 ⓘ$4.3M$4.4M—−$97,548—
FY2023 ⓘ$5.5M$5.5M87.0%$43,589—
FY2022 ⓘ$6.2M$6.2M96.0%$56,343—
FY2021 ⓘ$1.7M$1.6M98.0%$87,340—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 0 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 53
  • Volunteers Part I, line 62

Private foundation grants it received

3 private foundations reported grants to Mosdos Hatorah Vhachesed of Pnei Menachem totaling $123K on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Mosdos Hatorah Vhachesed of Pnei Menachem's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Mosdos Hatorah Vhachesed of Pnei Menachem, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All philanthropy, voluntarism & grantmaking charities · Largest charities in New York

Questions people ask

How much of Mosdos Hatorah Vhachesed of Pnei Menachem's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending January 31, 2025, Mosdos Hatorah Vhachesed of Pnei Menachem reported that 83.8% of its $14.0 million in expenses went to program services, 1.4% to management and general and 14.8% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Mosdos Hatorah Vhachesed of Pnei Menachem get its money?

Of $10.8 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending January 31, 2025, 100.0% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Mosdos Hatorah Vhachesed of Pnei Menachem a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 84-4693764 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2025, object 202523369349301457 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2024, object 202403439349300705 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2023, object 202323419349301227 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2022, object 202203479349300000 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending January 31, 2021, object 202103489349300000 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 84-4693764: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.