Charity Impact Media

Home › Unclassified

Covenant Missions

Roseville, MI · EIN 85-1701021 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))
Latest filing: Form 990 for calendar year 2024 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Covenant Missions reported $35.2 million in revenue and $35.1 million in expenses for calendar year 2024. Of every $100 it spent, $100.00 went to program services, $0.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 100.0% of the total. Revenue rose 6622% between 2020 and 2024. Source: Form 990, 2024.

Where $100 of spending went

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $35M

For context, the median across 2,433 covered unclassified charities: $88.27 programs, $11.68 management, $0.05 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

Calendar year 2024 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $35M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

2024 filing. Median across 2,433 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
Measure2024Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
100.0%86.7%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%11.5%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.01
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
100.0%29.9%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.2%3.8%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%58.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$301,601
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.38%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
06
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
0.46.8
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
10 of 10100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

2024 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$160K expenses · 0.5% of program spending · revenue $160K

Emergency food provider and school supplies sponsor for macomb county

$35M expenses · 99.5% of program spending · revenue $35M

Distribution of 60m in home goods to disaster areas and missions organizations

5 filings since FY2019 (10 mo.)

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpensesShort periods (after a fiscal-year change) are in the table, not the chart.
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M2020202120232024$35M$35M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
2024 ⓘ$35M$35M100.0%$1.2M—
2023 ⓘ$1.3M$675K100.0%$1.1M—
2021 ⓘ$655K$655K—$0—
2020 ⓘ$523K$523K—$0—
FY2019 (10 mo.) ⓘ$330K$330K100.0%$0—

Governance answers, as filed

2024 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b10 · 10 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 620

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Covenant Missions's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Covenant Missions, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All unclassified charities · Largest charities in Michigan

Questions people ask

How much of Covenant Missions's spending goes to programs?

In calendar year 2024, Covenant Missions reported that 100.0% of its $35.1 million in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Covenant Missions get its money?

Of $35.2 million in revenue in calendar year 2024, 100.0% came from contributions and grants (including 0.2% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Covenant Missions a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 85-1701021 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • 2024: Form 990 for calendar year 2024, object 202531419349300448 · read the filing · XML
  • 2023: Form 990 for calendar year 2023, object 202420249349301027 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202322289349300312 · read the filing
  • 2020: Form 990 for calendar year 2020, object 202332279349300208 · read the filing
  • FY2019 (10 mo.): Form 990 for the 10-month short period ending December 31, 2019, object 202103489349300300 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 85-1701021: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.