Charity Impact Media

Home › Arts, culture & humanities

Trustees of Calder Gardens

Philadelphia, PA · EIN 85-2458469 · 501(c)(3) · Supporting organization, Type I
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Trustees of Calder Gardens reported $36.7 million in revenue and $1.8 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $11.32 went to program services, $88.68 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 98.7% of the total. Government grants made up 38.3%. Revenue rose 1152% between 2021 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $1.8M

For context, the median across 876 covered arts, culture & humanities charities: $79.98 programs, $13.89 management, $6.13 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $37M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 876 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
11.3%78.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
88.7%13.6%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%6.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.10
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
98.7%57.5%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
38.3%1.7%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%20.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$385,706
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported2.03%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
513.436.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
9 of 9100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$205K expenses · 100.0% of program spending

Expenditures to design and construct a facility for the display of artwork created by the calder family of artists

5 filings since 2021

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpensesShort periods (after a fiscal-year change) are in the table, not the chart.
$0$10M$20M$30M$40M20212022FY2024FY2025$37M$1.8M
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$37M$1.8M11.3%$78M—
FY2024 ⓘ$22M$495K12.8%$43M—
FY2023 (6 mo.) ⓘ$9.5M$73,3740.0%$20M—
2022 ⓘ$7.9M$335K0.0%$10M—
2021 ⓘ$2.9M$94,4336.1%$2.8M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b9 · 9 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 615

Largest outside contractors

FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section B · businesses only
LF DRISCOLL COMPANY
Construction managers
$24,644,991
BALLINGER
Architects
$1,408,554
HERZOG & DE MEURON
Architects
$347,482
AEGIS PROPERTY GROUP
Owner's representative
$323,819
KARLSSONWILKER INC
Design studio
$188,850

Individuals listed as contractors are left out. 7 contractors were paid more than $100,000 in all.

Private foundation grants it received

3 private foundations reported grants to Trustees of Calder Gardens totaling $3.8M on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Trustees of Calder Gardens's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Trustees of Calder Gardens, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All arts, culture & humanities charities · Largest charities in Pennsylvania

Questions people ask

How much of Trustees of Calder Gardens's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Trustees of Calder Gardens reported that 11.3% of its $1.8 million in expenses went to program services, 88.7% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Trustees of Calder Gardens get its money?

Of $36.7 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 98.7% came from contributions and grants (including 38.3% from government grants) and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Trustees of Calder Gardens a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 85-2458469 as a 501(c)(3) organization (supporting organization, type i), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202503569349301015 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202530169349301028 · read the filing
  • FY2023 (6 mo.): Form 990 for the 6-month short period ending June 30, 2023, object 202440329349301719 · read the filing
  • 2022: Form 990 for calendar year 2022, object 202303179349303185 · read the filing
  • 2021: Form 990 for calendar year 2021, object 202243199349317764 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 85-2458469: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.