Charity Impact Media

Home › Education

American International School of Lagos

Alexandria, VA · EIN 85-2846654 · 501(c)(3) · School
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

American International School of Lagos reported $14.0 million in revenue and $12.0 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $62.86 went to program services, $37.14 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 104.3% of the total. Revenue fell 48% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending July 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $12M

For context, the median across 5,499 covered education charities: $85.56 programs, $13.59 management, $0.85 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending July 31, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $14M

Investment income was negative: −$605K. The bar shows the positive sources only.

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 5,499 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
62.9%84.4%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
37.1%13.4%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%0.8%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
Not reported$0.04
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
0.0%19.1%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.1%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
104.3%69.9%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$331,578
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported1.28%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
65.313.3
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
9 of 9100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$7.5M expenses · 100.0% of program spending · revenue $13M

To provide a comprehensive educational program which will meet the need of its pupils. Attention will be given to preparing pupils for admission when transfer is necessary, to the counterpart educational institutions in the united states of america and at such times as facilities permit pupils will be prepared for transfer to counterpart schools in nigeria and other countries from which they may come.to serve a functional need by providing educational facilities for children of american overseas personnel, for nigerian children and for children of various expatriate groups living in and…

6 years of filings

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$14M$12M62.9%$65M—
FY2024 ⓘ$25M$10M63.2%$62M—
FY2023 ⓘ$27M$13M63.4%$62M—
FY2022 ⓘ$15M$12M69.8%$61M—
FY2021 ⓘ$30M$15M58.1%$58M—
FY2020 ⓘ$27M$24M51.7%$44M—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b9 · 9 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bNo
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aNo
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13No
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14No
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bYes
  • Employees Part I, line 50

Private foundation grants it received

1 private foundation reported grants to American International School of Lagos totaling $4,000 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.

Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from American International School of Lagos's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for American International School of Lagos, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Questions people ask

How much of American International School of Lagos's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025, American International School of Lagos reported that 62.9% of its $12.0 million in expenses went to program services, 37.1% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does American International School of Lagos get its money?

Of $14.0 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025, 0.0% came from contributions and grants and 104.3% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is American International School of Lagos a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 85-2846654 as a 501(c)(3) organization (school), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2025, object 202600769349300720 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2024, object 202510429349300736 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2023, object 202420599349300917 · read the filing
  • FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2022, object 202300589349301465 · read the filing
  • FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2021, object 202230539349300313 · read the filing
  • FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending July 31, 2020, object 202100859349301335 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 85-2846654: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.