Charity Impact Media

Home › Arts, culture & humanities

Utah Heritage and Arts Foundation

Salt Lake City, UT · EIN 85-3721660 · 501(c)(3) · Publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(A)(vi))
Latest filing: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 (tax year 2024) · View the filing · Correct or respond

Utah Heritage and Arts Foundation reported $13.6 million in revenue and $954,018 in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $100.00 went to program services, $0.00 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was contributions and grants: 97.5% of the total. Source: Form 990, FY2025.

Where $100 of spending went

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $954K

For context, the median across 876 covered arts, culture & humanities charities: $79.98 programs, $13.89 management, $6.13 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).

Where $100 of revenue came from

The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $14M

The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades

FY2025 filing. Median across 876 covered charities in this category, from their latest filings.
MeasureFY2025Median
Program services
Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A)
100.0%78.5%
Management & general
Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%13.6%
Fundraising
Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A)
0.0%6.0%
Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions
Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h
$0.00$0.10
Contributions & grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1h ÷ 12
97.5%57.5%
Government grants share of revenue
Part VIII 1e ÷ 12
0.0%1.7%
Program service revenue share
Part VIII 2g ÷ 12
0.0%20.8%
Highest reported compensation
Part VII-A, columns D–F
Not reported$385,706
Highest compensation as share of expenses
Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A)
Not reported2.03%
People paid over $100,000
Part VII, line 2
08
Net assets, in months of expenses
Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses
346.436.6
Independent voting board members
Part VI 1a–1b
3 of 3100.0%

A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.

What the money paid for, in its own words

FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expense
$195K expenses · 20.5% of program spending

There are innumerable leaders among US of all ages, cultures, and experiences. The utah division of multicultural affairs works to strengthen and support our communities starting with its foundationits young people through youth leadership programming. The multicultural youth leadership day is an annual event hosted by the utah division of multicultural affairs. This engaging program aims to motivate all students to pursue leadership and civic engagement pathways. The multicultural youth leadership summit is an annual event for 7th, 8th, & 9th grade students to explore educational and career…

$759K expenses · 79.5% of program spending

Thriving utah is an americorps program designed to support local nonprofits in increasing their organizational capacity. In its founding program year, thriving utah members will serve at least 27,600 hours with nonprofits and public agencies. Working closely with these organizations, members will create and execute a capacity building plan tailored to the organization's needs, services, and goals. Through the americorps members service term, they will work to develop and strengthen the abilities, processes, and resources that organizations and communities need to survive, adapt, and thrive in…

— expenses

The multicultural rural mental health grant program supports organizations that serve the mental and behavioral health of multicultural communities in rural utah and who have a commitment to reduce the stigma and inequalities surrounding these topics. This grant supports the urgent need to address mental and behavioral health challenges that have been intensified and magnified by COVID-19 in utah's rural communities

5 filings since FY2020 (4 mo.)

Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linked
RevenueExpensesShort periods (after a fiscal-year change) are in the table, not the chart.
$0$5.0M$10M$15M$20MFY2023FY2024FY2025$14M$954K
FilingRevenueExpensesProgramsNet assetsTop pay
FY2025 ⓘ$14M$954K100.0%$28M—
FY2024 ⓘ$2.7M$662K100.0%$15M—
FY2023 ⓘ$13M$818K100.0%$13M—
FY2022 (6 mo.) ⓘ$174K$25,817100.0%$535K—
FY2020 (4 mo.) ⓘ$582K$64,849100.0%$517K—

Governance answers, as filed

FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means
  • Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b3 · 3 independent
  • Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
  • Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
  • Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
  • Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
  • Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
  • Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
  • Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
  • Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
  • Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
  • Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
  • Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
  • Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
  • Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
  • Employees Part I, line 50
  • Volunteers Part I, line 620

Correct a figure or respond

Every number above is copied from Utah Heritage and Arts Foundation's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Utah Heritage and Arts Foundation, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.

Similar-sized charities in this cause

All arts, culture & humanities charities · Largest charities in Utah

Questions people ask

How much of Utah Heritage and Arts Foundation's spending goes to programs?

In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Utah Heritage and Arts Foundation reported that 100.0% of its $954,018 in expenses went to program services, 0.0% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).

Where does Utah Heritage and Arts Foundation get its money?

Of $13.6 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 97.5% came from contributions and grants and 0.0% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).

Is Utah Heritage and Arts Foundation a registered charity?

The IRS lists EIN 85-3721660 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (170(b)(1)(a)(vi))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2020, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.

Sources

  • FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202600919349300240 · read the filing · XML
  • FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202532269349303133 · read the filing
  • FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202431369349318013 · read the filing
  • FY2022 (6 mo.): Form 990 for the 6-month short period ending June 30, 2022, object 202341359349311364 · read the filing
  • FY2020 (4 mo.): Form 990 for the 4-month short period ending December 31, 2020, object 202321359349311402 · read the filing

All filings for EIN 85-3721660: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.