Mingus Mountain Estate Residential
Mingus Mountain Estate Residential reported $24.1 million in revenue and $23.7 million in expenses for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025. Of every $100 it spent, $92.54 went to program services, $7.46 to management and general costs and $0.00 to fundraising. Its largest source of revenue was program service revenue such as fees, sales and contracts: 101.5% of the total. The highest compensation it reported for one person was $1,000 (CHAIRMAN). Revenue rose 2% between FY2020 and FY2025. Source: Form 990, FY2025.
Where $100 of spending went
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part IX, line 25 · total expenses $24MFor context, the median across 3,614 covered human services charities: $88.27 programs, $11.52 management, $0.21 fundraising (medians computed separately, so they may not sum to $100).
Where $100 of revenue came from
The fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 · Form 990, Part VIII · total revenue $24M- Contributions & grants (non-government)$0.16 $38,793
- Program service revenue$98.35 $24M
- Investment income$1.49 $370K
Other revenue was negative: −$776K. The bar shows the positive sources only.
The 990 scorecard · same measures for every charity, no grades
| Measure | FY2025 | Median |
|---|---|---|
| Program services Part IX 25(B) ÷ 25(A) | 92.5% | 87.2% |
| Management & general Part IX 25(C) ÷ 25(A) | 7.5% | 11.4% |
| Fundraising Part IX 25(D) ÷ 25(A) | 0.0% | 0.2% |
| Fundraising cost per $1 of contributions Part IX 25(D) ÷ Part VIII 1h | Not reported | $0.02 |
| Contributions & grants share of revenue Part VIII 1h ÷ 12 | 0.2% | 20.6% |
| Government grants share of revenue Part VIII 1e ÷ 12 | 0.0% | 2.4% |
| Program service revenue share Part VIII 2g ÷ 12 | 101.5% | 70.8% |
| Highest reported compensation Part VII-A, columns D–F | $1,000 | $274,992 |
| Highest compensation as share of expenses Part VII-A ÷ Part IX 25(A) | 0.00% | 1.18% |
| People paid over $100,000 Part VII, line 2 | Not reported | 6 |
| Net assets, in months of expenses Part X 33(B) ÷ monthly expenses | 1.5 | 6.9 |
| Independent voting board members Part VI 1a–1b | 6 of 6 | 100.0% |
A median is context, not a target: hospitals, universities, food banks and grantmakers spend in very different ways. What these measures can and can't tell you.
What the money paid for, in its own words
FY2025 · Form 990, Part III · the three largest programs by expenseMingus Mountain academy - residential center for at-risk girls between the ages of 12 and 18, providing structure and positive peer culture in order to prepare students for a productive life outside of correctional facilities and continous substance abuse
Highest reported compensation
FY2025 · Form 990, Part VII, Section A · roles as filed; names are in the filing, not here| Role | From this org | From related orgs | Other | Total |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| CHAIRMAN Director/trustee, officer, 2.50 hrs/week | $1,000 | $0 | $0 | $1,000 |
| FUNDRAISING Director/trustee, 2.50 hrs/week | $1,000 | $0 | $0 | $1,000 |
| PRESIDENT Director/trustee, officer, 2.50 hrs/week | $1,000 | $0 | $0 | $1,000 |
| SECRETARY Director/trustee, 2.50 hrs/week | $1,000 | $0 | $0 | $1,000 |
| TREASURER Director/trustee, 2.50 hrs/week | $1,000 | $0 | $0 | $1,000 |
6 years of filings
Form 990, Parts I, VII, IX and X · each row is that year's own filing, linkedGovernance answers, as filed
FY2025 · the organization's own yes/no answers; explanations, if any, are in Schedule O of the filing · what each means- Voting board members, and how many are independent Part VI, lines 1a–1b6 · 6 independent
- Audited financial statements Part XII 2bYes
- Conflict-of-interest policy Part VI 12aYes
- Whistleblower policy Part VI 13Yes
- Document retention policy Part VI 14Yes
- Independent process for top executive pay Part VI 15aNo
- Board given the 990 before filing Part VI 11aYes
- Family or business ties among insiders Part VI 2No
- Aware of a significant diversion of assets Part VI 5No
- Excess benefit transaction with an insider Part IV 25aNo
- Loans to or from insiders outstanding Part IV 26No
- Lobbying, or a 501(h) election in effect Part IV 4No
- Over $15,000 of professional fundraising services Part IV 18No
- Over $10,000 of activity outside the U.S. Part IV 14bNo
- Employees Part I, line 50
Private foundation grants it received
1 private foundation reported grants to Mingus Mountain Estate Residential totaling $28 on their tax year 2023 Form 990-PF returns. See which foundations, on WHOFUNDS.
Source: WHOFUNDS open grant graph, matched from Form 990-PF Part XV.
Correct a figure or respond
Every number above is copied from Mingus Mountain Estate Residential's own Form 990. If one doesn't match the filing, that's our error and we'll fix it. If you work for Mingus Mountain Estate Residential, you can publish a response that is linked from this page.
Share or embed this breakdown
Of every $100 Mingus Mountain Estate Residential spent in FY2025, $92.54 went to programs. The full breakdown, from its IRS Form 990:
Embed on your site
Similar-sized charities in this cause
- Penick VillageSouthern Pines, NC · revenue $24M · programs 75.3% · FY2025
- Lenox Hill Neighborhood HouseNew York, NY · revenue $24M · programs 79.3% · FY2025
- Central State Community Services OklahomaTulsa, OK · revenue $24M · programs 86.0% · FY2025
- Agency for Community Empowerment of NepaScranton, PA · revenue $24M · programs 92.4% · FY2025
- Family Services of Northeast WiGreen Bay, WI · revenue $24M · programs 85.5% · 2024
Questions people ask
How much of Mingus Mountain Estate Residential's spending goes to programs?
In the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, Mingus Mountain Estate Residential reported that 92.5% of its $23.7 million in expenses went to program services, 7.5% to management and general and 0.0% to fundraising (Form 990, Part IX).
How much does Mingus Mountain Estate Residential pay its top executive?
The largest total compensation Mingus Mountain Estate Residential reported for one person in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025 was $1,000, for the role of CHAIRMAN (Form 990, Part VII, including compensation from related organizations and other compensation).
Where does Mingus Mountain Estate Residential get its money?
Of $24.1 million in revenue in the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, 0.2% came from contributions and grants and 101.5% from program service revenue (Form 990, Part VIII).
Is Mingus Mountain Estate Residential a registered charity?
The IRS lists EIN 86-0551514 as a 501(c)(3) organization (publicly supported organization (509(a)(2))), and its records show contributions as tax-deductible. Form 990 filings on record here cover tax years 2019, 2020, 2021, 2022, 2023, 2024. A filing shows what the organization reported; it doesn't by itself show whether a program works.
Sources
- FY2025: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2025, object 202630349349300043 · read the filing · XML
- FY2024: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2024, object 202423329349300907 · read the filing
- FY2023: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2023, object 202333199349323163 · read the filing
- FY2022: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2022, object 202330469349302148 · read the filing
- FY2021: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2021, object 202201179349302255 · read the filing
- FY2020: Form 990 for the fiscal year ending June 30, 2020, object 202131379349311253 · read the filing
All filings for EIN 86-0551514: ProPublica Nonprofit Explorer · IRS Tax Exempt Organization Search. Figures are as the organization reported them; we have not audited them.